Yes. Per Article 14 of the Hayward City Municipal Code, the city permits the establishment of marijuana dispensaries within its borders as long as such businesses have obtained the required state and local licenses and permits. Recreational cannabis was legalized in Hayward and the rest of California following the passage of Proposition 64 in 2016. The proposition permitted the establishment of marijuana retail outlets in the state.
Yes. Per Article 14 of the Hayward Municipal Code and Ordinance No. 19-07, medical marijuana dispensaries may operate in the city. While municipalities have the approval under state law to ban the operations of commercial cannabis businesses within their jurisdictions, Hayward does not ban the operation of medical marijuana dispensaries in the city.
Yes. You can purchase cannabis from online weed dispensaries in Hayward, as the city does not ban the operations of cannabis delivery services within its jurisdiction.
Visiting a cannabis dispensary in Hayward can be intimidating, especially for first-time visitors. However, cannabis dispensaries commonly have employees designated to help visitors enjoy their visits to the facilities.
You will need an ID to show you are above 21 in order to enter an adult-use dispensary in the city or a medical marijuana identification card to enter a medical cannabis dispensary. Otherwise, a physician's recommendation may suffice if you plan to visit a medical marijuana dispensary. Most dispensaries also accept cash, so prepare to pay by cash or withdraw cash from a nearby ATM. You may also find product menus online for some Hayward dispensaries.
The Hayward Municipal Code permits the establishment of marijuana storefront retailers and non-storefront retailers. Some dispensary laws in operations in Hayward include:
Cannabis dispensaries must verify the ages and necessary documentation of each customer to ensure customers are at least 21
Cannabis dispensaries must ensure that persons with identification cards under 18 are accompanied by parents or guardians
Doctor recommendations for medical marijuana are not to be provided at dispensaries in the city
A weed dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of a school, park, library, daycare center, or place of worship
A cannabis dispensary in Hayward may not be located within 500 feet of any other commercial cannabis dispensary
Following the approval of the state’s medical cannabis law, California legalized recreational cannabis through Proposition 64, passed in November 2016. Proposition 64, also referred to as the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), permits Hayward residents aged 21 or older to grow, cultivate, process, transport, obtain, and purchase marijuana subject to certain restrictions.
Key takeaways from the Hayward recreational weed laws include:
Adults aged 21 or older age may own, acquire, receive, or use marijuana accessories
Adults aged 21 or older may grow up to six cannabis plants regardless of maturity level indoors
Adults over 21 may possess up to 28.5 grams of marijuana and 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. Any amounts in excess of these restrictions constitute an offense
Cannabis may not be consumed in public or wherever tobacco smoking is banned
Cannabis consumption is banned on the grounds of a cannabis dispensary
Cannabis consumption is prohibited while driving or riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle, boat, vessel, airplane, or other vehicle used for transportation
Smoking cannabis or cannabis products is illegal within 1,000 feet of a school, daycare center, or youth center when minors are present, unless in a private residence and only if such smoking is undetectable by others on the grounds of such a school, daycare center, or youth center
The Compassionate Use Act of California, which legalized medicinal marijuana in California, was approved in 1996. The City of Hayward adheres to this legislation, which permits its people to possess and acquire medicinal marijuana for the treatment of specific medical diseases, including arthritis, anorexia, migraine, glaucoma, and AIDS and cancer-related chronic pain. The CUA also permits patients to designate caregivers to help with administering medicinal marijuana if they are minors or unable to administer medical cannabis themselves. Additionally, caregivers may cultivate cannabis for their patients.
Medical marijuana patients who qualify and are registered in Hayward may buy and possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis and cultivate up to six cannabis plants indoors. The delivery of medical marijuana is permitted in Hayward.
According to the California Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP), in order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Hayward, you must apply to the Alameda County Public Health Department. Application submissions are by appointment only, as walk-in submissions are not accepted by the county public health department. You may call the Office at (510) 268-2977 to schedule an appointment.
In order to be eligible to apply for a medical marijuana identification card, you must:
Be aged 18
Reside in the City of Hayward
Have one of the medical conditions approved for medical marijuana. You may be eligible if you have a persistent or chronic medical symptom that substantially limits your capacity to perform a significant life activity, as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. You may also qualify if you suffer from a condition that, if left untreated, poses a substantial risk to your safety, physical, or mental health
Possess a recommendation from a healthcare physician indicating that medical marijuana use is appropriate for your condition
Be a caregiver whose patient meets the criteria above
At your appointment with the county public health services office, the following will be required:
A completed MMIC Application form
A valid government-issued photo ID
Proof of residency in Hayward
Written documentation or CDPH 9044 form completed by your attending physician recommending medical marijuana as appropriate for your condition
Application fee of $100 or $50 if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary. Note that your current Medi-Cal card will be required if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary
Completed applications may be submitted at:
Alameda County Public Health Department
1100 San Leandro Boulevard
San Leandro, CA 94577
Phone: (510) 268-2977
eFax: (510) 273-3762
After the county health department verifies the information provided on your application, your medical marijuana card will be issued. The processing period may take up to 35 days. A county health department staff member will notify you when your card is ready for collection.
Cannabis use is permitted in a private dwelling. Before consuming marijuana in a rented unit, ensure you have permission from your landlord or property owner.
If you are 21 or older, you may buy marijuana at a Hayward weed dispensary by going to the approved dispensary location with cash and a valid photo ID (21). If visiting a medical weed dispensary, you must visit a medical marijuana dispensary with your medical marijuana identification card or your attending physician's recommendation and be at least 18 years old.
One gram of high-quality cannabis in Hayward costs about $20, while about 1oz of the same quality of recreational weed costs about $150.
Some popular cannabis strains in Hayward are:
Cannabis smoking in public areas is illegal in Hayward. Smoking, vaping, or ingesting cannabis, including edibles in driveways, parking lots, play areas, athletic fields, park entrances, religious assemblies, banks, schools, and other places people gather, is prohibited. Smoking cannabis is also illegal in any vehicle leased, owned, or operated in the city.
Under the Medical and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA), Hayward residents are permitted to purchase and possess up to 28 grams of cannabis and 8 grams of cannabis-infused products (MAUCRSA). Furthermore, each household may grow up to six cannabis plants. In Hayward, registered medical marijuana patients may purchase and possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana. Patients with valid medicinal marijuana cards may cultivate a maximum of 12 immature plants and 6 mature cannabis plants at home.
Federal legislation prohibits carrying cannabis across state lines into Hayward. As federal laws govern interstate travel, moving a federally prohibited narcotic from one state to another is a federal violation punishable by severe penalties. However, you may ship marijuana from one California city to Hayward as long as it is packed in a sealed container in the trunk of your car.
Yes. You can offer cannabis online in Hayward as the city awards non-storefront retail licenses to cannabis establishments. Such cannabis businesses deliver cannabis orders to the physical addresses of Hayward residents.
To find the operation hours of Hayward dispensaries, you can put the term "dispensary near me” in an online search engine.
Yes. Hayward dispensaries sell cannabis to adult visitors with proper photo identification proving they are of legal age (21). The city, however, does not allow visitors who are not enrolled with the California medical marijuana program to access its medical cannabis dispensaries, except if such persons have been registered with the California medical marijuana program.
Before visiting recreational cannabis dispensaries in Hayward, you must possess a valid photo identification showing you are 21 or older. Additionally, a medical marijuana card or doctor's recommendation is required to visit a medical marijuana dispensary in the city.
For some of the best weed dispensaries near you in Hayward, consider:
Garden of Eden
We Are Hemp
Hayward Dispensaries may scan your identification when purchasing marijuana not to keep your personal records but to retain vital information about your purchase. The goal is to ensure that you do not buy more cannabis than is allowed under the law.
The Hayward Code does not contain a limit on the number of permits that may be issued to cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Hayward dispensaries typically accept cash and not credit cards. Many cannabis dispensaries within the city have ATMs on their premises, allowing cannabis buyers to withdraw cash that may be used for their purchases.
There is no limit to the number of cannabis dispensaries you may visit in one day. However, with Hayward dispensaries tracking visitors' purchases, you cannot buy beyond the limit stipulated under the law.
No. Hayward dispensaries do not take health insurance. Cannabis buyers in the city must pay the full worth of cannabis purchases.
Yes. As required under law, marijuana dispensaries in Hayward and California are required to track how much visitors purchase to ensure the daily limits are not exceeded.
You cannot visit a marijuana dispensary in Hayward except if you are 21 or older. Recreational cannabis dispensaries are required under law to ensure that persons under the age of 21 are not permitted within their premises. In compliance, marijuana dispensaries employ securities or personnel who verify the ages of visitors to their facilities. However, if you are 18 or older and have a medical marijuana card or physician recommendation for medical marijuana use, you may enter a medical marijuana dispensary in the city.
The Hayward Council acts as a regulatory authority over cannabis operations in the city. You may find the contact information of the Hayward Manager on the Hayward government website.