Weed delivery is legal in California and typically occurs between 6:00 am and 10:00 pm Pacific Time. Only adults aged 21 or older can take advantage of recreational weed delivery, while medical marijuana delivery is only open to persons aged at least 18 or, in cases where the patients are minors, their adult caregivers. A new bill set to go into effect in January 2024 will make medical marijuana delivery legal in all California jurisdictions, including municipalities that currently prohibit it.
Yes. Medical marijuana is legal in California as permitted under the provisions of the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA). Note that medical marijuana delivery in California is only open to persons registered with the state as medical cannabis patients who have valid medical cannabis recommendations.
Yes. In accordance with Proposition 64, adults aged 21 or older can order recreational marijuana for delivery. Cannabis delivery in California is regulated by the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) and permitted to adults with valid forms of identification.
You can order medical or recreational weed in California if you are eligible to use either form of weed. California dispensaries may deliver their products directly to dispensaries if authorized or use delivery services approved by the Department of Cannabis Control. You can order cannabis online by phone or through available menus on the websites of licensed dispensaries.
You can order up to 28.5 grams of non-concentrated weed and up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis if you are a recreational cannabis user in California. If you are buying cannabis plants, the limit is 6 plants. If you are a medical marijuana buyer, the limit is 8 ounces of concentrated cannabis or 12 immature cannabis plants.
You must be 21 years or older to use a weed delivery service for recreational cannabis in California. If you want medical marijuana delivery, you must be at least 18 years of age. There are no provisions for minors to take advantage of recreational marijuana delivery. Still, qualified patients under the age of 18 are permitted to have their designated adult caregivers use medical marijuana delivery services on their behalf.
Type 9 (non-storefront retailer) and Type 10 (storefront retailer) licenses issued by the California Department of Cannabis Control allow licensees to deliver cannabis goods directly to consumers. Hence, any person or entity looking to offer cannabis delivery service must obtain either of these California cannabis licenses.
You can find California weed delivery services near you by searching online for directories listing weed delivery services in the state. A few popular online directories allow users to search weed delivery services in their areas by putting in their states and local zip codes. You can also ask friends or other marijuana users for recommendations on reliable weed delivery services in your municipality. Note that marijuana deliveries can only arrive at physical addresses in California that are not on publicly owned land, a school, a daycare, or a youth center.
Delivery customers must provide acceptable proof of identification in order to receive their orders in compliance with the rules imposed by the Department of Cannabis Control. Persons receiving medical marijuana deliveries must show their valid photo IDs and California-issued physicians’ recommendations or medical marijuana cards. Adults receiving recreational marijuana deliveries must show their government-issued photo IDs showing they are 21 years or older.
California cannabis laws allow municipalities to restrict marijuana delivery in their jurisdictions. Due to this provision, some local governments have enacted ordinances prohibiting the operations of marijuana delivery services within their borders. Note that some municipalities only opt not to license retail outlets, meaning licensed delivery services authorized to operate in other cities may yet deliver cannabis to their jurisdictions. For a list of where cannabis non-storefront and storefront retailers have been prohibited from operating, see the where cannabis businesses are allowed page of the California cannabis website.
Moreover, SB 1186, enacted as an amendment to the MAUCRSA, states that from January 1, 2024, no local jurisdiction in California may adopt or enforce regulations prohibiting the delivery of medical cannabis to patients and their primary caregivers within their jurisdictions.