Marijuana Dispensaries in Pleasanton

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Pleasanton?

No. According to Chapter 6.18.020 of the Pleasanton Municipal Code, no person or entity may operate a marijuana dispensary in the city. Hence, you cannot legally purchase cannabis in Pleasanton.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Pleasanton?

No. Chapter 6.18.020 of the Pleasanton Municipal Code does not allow the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in any location in the city.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Pleasanton?

There are no dispensaries in the city; hence, purchasing cannabis online in the city is not possible. Also, in accordance with Chapter 6.18.035 of the Pleasanton Municipal Code, no delivery of cannabis originating or terminating in the city is legal. This means that residents of the city cannot order cannabis online from dispensaries in other California locations.

Visiting a Dispensary in Pleasanton

The City of Pleasanton has implemented a prohibition on the operation of cannabis dispensaries within its municipal boundaries. Due to the ban, it is not possible to visit a dispensary to purchase cannabis products there.

Pleasanton Dispensary Laws

Dispensaries, whether for medical or recreational retail sales, are not allowed to be located within the boundaries of Pleasanton.

Recreational Laws in Pleasanton

Recreational marijuana laws in the city are obtained from the overarching cannabis law in the state – The Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA). AUMA, approved in 2016, includes the following key provisions relating to marijuana use, cultivation, sale, possession, and transfer:

  • Personal possession: Adults aged 21 years and older can legally hold up to 1 ounce of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis

  • Cultivation: Adults of legal age can grow up to 6 plants per household for personal use indoors. The home cultivation of cannabis may only occur on impervious surfaces and reveal no exterior evidence of cannabis cultivation from a public right-of-way. The limit of 6 marijuana plants per private residence applies regardless of how many individuals aged 21 or older live at the private residence

  • Sales: While AUMA permits California-licensed businesses to sell marijuana products to adults aged 21 years and older, Pleasanton bans the establishment of cannabis dispensaries within its limits

  • Public consumption: It is illegal to consume cannabis in public places or where smoking is prohibited

  • Workplace: Employers are not prohibited from enforcing drug-free workplace policies, and employees can be disciplined for cannabis use that affects work output

  • Driving: It is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis

  • Use by minors: The sale of cannabis to minors and unlicensed sales are criminal offenses

  • Cannabis sharing: Adults of legal age may share cannabis within the stipulated cannabis possession limits with other adults as long as there are no compensations or exchanges of valuable items involved

Medical Cannabis Laws in Pleasanton

The Compassionate Use Act, also known as Proposition 215, is the governing legislation for medical marijuana use in Pleasanton and the rest of California. The law only permits medical marijuana use for patients with specific medical conditions, including chronic pain, AIDS, migraine, cancer, glaucoma, cachexia, seizures, persistent muscle spasms, severe nausea, anorexia, and any condition that restricts the ability to carry out a basic life activity.

Patients in Pleasanton with any qualifying conditions must first receive certifications from licensed physicians in California before purchasing cannabis legally. Although Pleasanton law prohibits medical marijuana dispensaries from operating within its limits, the medical marijuana recommendation or certification will be required at licensed dispensaries in other California locations before patients may be sold medical cannabis and medical cannabis products.

Medical marijuana patients in Pleasanton are permitted to possess up to 8 ounces of concentrated cannabis. Under Chapter 6.18.030 (B) of the Pleasanton Municipal Code, qualified patients are permitted to cultivate up to three marijuana plants indoors. A primary caregiver can cultivate up to 9 marijuana plants - 3 plants for a maximum of 3 qualified patients being cared for by the caregiver. Medical cannabis cultivation, whether by primary caregiver or patient, may not be visible to the public from a public area.

Note that minors in Pleasanton may use medical marijuana with parental consent and physician's recommendations. When visiting approved California medical marijuana dispensaries, a minor must be accompanied by a designated caregiver who must be approved by the California Department of Public Health to care for the minor patient.

SB 420 established a statewide Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) program, allowing qualified patients to obtain medical marijuana cards. The MMIC helps California law enforcement identify and verify qualified patients, but it is not a mandatory requirement for qualified patients.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Pleasanton

To obtain a medical marijuana card in Pleasanton, you must complete an application at the Alameda County Public Health Department (ACPHD). Note that the California MMICP requires counties to implement an optional patient identification card program to issue county residents medical marijuana cards. The ACPHD requires patients to pre-schedule an appointment before submitting their applications. To schedule an appointment with the county public health office, call (510) 268-2977 or visit:

1100 San Leandro Boulevard

San Leandro, CA 94577

At your scheduled application submission appointment, you will be required to provide the following:

  • A completed medical marijuana application form

  • The original written and signed recommendation from your physician on official letterhead or completed on the CDPH 9044 form

  • A government-issued photo ID, such as a State of California-issued driver's license and the United States Passport

  • Proof of residence in Pleasanton, such as a mortgage payment receipt, current utility bill, or California motor vehicle registration with your Pleasanton address

  • Application fee. The fee is $100 for a standard application, but a Medi-Cal beneficiary is eligible to pay $50

Your medical marijuana identification card may take up to 35 days to be ready, and a county health department staff will contact you for pick-up when the card becomes available.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Pleasanton?

Private residences are the recommended locations for cannabis use in Pleasanton. It is prohibited to use cannabis in public locations or where you may be seen.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Pleasanton Dispensary

Since no dispensaries are in the city, you cannot buy cannabis there.

The Average Price of Cannabis in Pleasanton

Cannabis sales do not happen legally in Pleasanton, as there are no dispensaries there.

Most Popular Strains in Pleasanton

Cannabis strains are not sold legally in Pleasanton.

Can You Smoke in Public in Pleasanton?

It is illegal to smoke cannabis in public or outdoors in Pleasanton. Also, in accordance with Chapter 9.26.030 of the Pleasanton Municipal Code, smoking is prohibited in the following areas:

  • All units in multi-family rental apartments

  • Any exclusive use of enclosed area or unenclosed areas, such as private balconies, porches, decks, or patios of all multifamily rental apartments

  • All unenclosed common areas and enclosed common areas

  • Areas within 25 horizontal or vertical feet from any door, opening, window, air intake system, or a vent of a unit.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Pleasanton?

Pleasanton adults of legal age can hold 8 grams of concentrated cannabis and 28.5 grams of non-concentrated cannabis without legal repercussions. Per state law, qualified patients can have up to 8 ounces of concentrated marijuana or more if permitted by a licensed California physician.

Can I Ship Cannabis to Pleasanton?

No. Shipping cannabis is illegal when it involves transport across state lines. Hence, if you move cannabis from another state into Pleasanton, you may face federal prosecution. It is also illegal to ship cannabis into Pleasanton because the city ordinance forbids cannabis delivery.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Pleasanton?

Per Chapter 6.18.035 of the Pleasanton Municipal Code, all commercial deliveries of medical and nonmedical marijuana originating or terminating within the city are expressly prohibited. Hence, you cannot order cannabis online in the city and have it delivered to your address. If you opt to order cannabis online from other California jurisdictions, you must visit the dispensary to pick up your order.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Pleasanton?

There are no dispensaries in the City of Pleasanton.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Pleasanton?

There are no dispensaries in Pleasanton.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Pleasanton?

To buy cannabis in California, an ID is required, but there are no authorized cannabis vendors in Pleasanton.

Best Dispensaries in Pleasanton

Dispensaries are not permitted to locate in Pleasanton.

Do Dispensaries Scan Your ID in Pleasanton?

No dispensary exists in Pleasanton.

How Many Dispensaries are in Pleasanton?

Cannabis dispensaries are not allowed to operate in Pleasanton.

Can Dispensaries in Pleasanton Take Credit Cards?

Cannabis dispensaries are banned in the city.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

There are no approved cannabis vendors in Pleasanton.

Do Dispensaries in Pleasanton Take Health Insurance?

Although there are no authorized retailers in the city, health insurance plans do not typically include coverage for cannabis purchases.

Do Dispensaries in Pleasanton Track How Much Weed You Buy?

The City of Pleasanton has no cannabis dispensaries.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Pleasanton at Age 18?

There are no approved marijuana vendors in Pleasanton.

Where Can I Find the Pleasanton Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

The California Department of Cannabis Control regulates cannabis activities in Pleasanton. You may contact the department using the contact information on the DCC website.

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Pleasanton?

To report illicit cannabis activities in Pleasanton, file a complaint with the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) or the Pleasanton Police Department. To contact the City of Pleasanton PD, call (925) 931-5100.