Yes. Fresno abides by California's Proposition 64, which legalized adult-use marijuana in the state and permitted the establishment of cannabis businesses to cultivate, manufacture, and sell recreational cannabis.
Yes. Several medical marijuana dispensaries are approved to operate in Fresno to cater to the needs of medical marijuana patients in the city. Medical marijuana dispensaries are established under the Compassionate Use Act, which legalized medical marijuana in the State of California.
Yes. Fresno residents can buy weed from dispensaries accepting online orders in the city. The city does not restrict the purchase of weed online or limit what kind of cannabis products may be ordered online.
Visiting a cannabis dispensary is often a good experience for many, especially cannabis enthusiasts. Depending on how much you know about cannabis products and what you are looking for or have been recommended, the dispensary staff you meet will be knowledgeable and can always help you determine which options are best for you. There are many different terpenes in marijuana, and it is important to know how they make people feel. Ensure you are of legal age when visiting (21 for adult-use weed and 18 for medical weed) and hold a valid ID as evidence that you can purchase weed.
In Fresno, California, you must be at least 21 years old and possess a valid identification card, such as a driver's license, to visit a dispensary. Fresno dispensaries cannot sell more than one ounce of cannabis per consumer each day. The daily limit for cannabis concentrates per buyer is 8 grams.
Per Section 9-3307 of the Fresno Municipal Code, all buildings in which cannabis retail business is located must be no closer than 800 feet from:
A cannabis retail business
A school providing instruction for any grades preschool through 12
A daycare center
A youth center
Voters in California approved Proposition 64, also called the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), on November 8, 2016. This legislation legalized non medical marijuana for recreational use in California, subject to the regulations of local governments.
The Fresno Council adopted the Cannabis Retail Business and Commercial Cannabis Business Ordinance on December 13, 2018. The ordinance established the framework and regulatory requirements for Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis businesses to operate within Fresno for commercial cannabis operations, such as cultivation, manufacturing, and distribution. This law was revised on January 30, 2020, and June 25, 2020, and the City Council is authorized to make subsequent modifications.
Under the California recreational marijuana laws, adults in Fresno aged 21 or older can possess up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis. Such persons may also cultivate up to 6 plants for personal use. Residents exceeding these amounts may be charged with a misdemeanor of up to 6 months imprisonment and a fine of up to $500.
Per Section 9-3305 of the Fresno Municipal Code, no one may engage in commercial cannabis activity in the city except such a person or entity is in compliance with all applicable local and state laws and has obtained:
A Fresno commercial cannabis business permit
A state cannabis business license
A cannabis conditional use permit
A cannabis business license tax certificate
Pursuant to the MAUCRSA (Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act), Fresno residents diagnosed with any of the approved medical conditions for medical cannabis use may access medical marijuana in the city. Such patients must register in the California medical marijuana registry and may designate caregivers to help them administer medical cannabis if they are under 18. Patients may also obtain a medical marijuana card which keeps them from paying sales tax on cannabis purchases. Medical marijuana patients in Fresno can cultivate up to 6 mature or 12 immature plants. They can also transport or possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis.
In order to be eligible to obtain a medical marijuana (MMJ) card in Fresno, you must be aged 18 or older and have a medical condition approved for medical marijuana use. Applications must be submitted to the Fresno County Department of Public Health at a scheduled appointment. Appointments at the county health department are typically on Wednesdays between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Before scheduling an appointment with the county health department, you must:
Obtain a written recommendation from your attending physician
Complete a medical marijuana card application form
Take the following to your scheduled appointment:
A completed application
The original written recommendation from your attending physician
A government-issued picture ID
Proof of residency in Fresno, such as:
A current and valid California driver's license or California Identification Card issued in your name and bearing your Fresno address issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). A DL 43 "Change of Address Certification Card" issued by the DMV is acceptable
A current and valid state motor vehicle registration bearing your name and address in Fresno
A recent rent receipt, mortgage receipt, or utility bill with your name and Fresno address
Application fee. The fee is $32 for Medi-Cal recipients and $63 for non-Medi-Cal recipients
Note that a staff of the county health department will take your photograph and that of your caregiver (if applicable) at the appointment. The FCDPH (Fresno County Department of Public Health) will approve or deny your application within 30 days of submission. If more information or paperwork is necessary, the FCDPH will notify you of missing information. You are allowed 30 days from the notification date to provide the missing information or documents.
If you supply the missing information, the FCDPH has 14 days from receipt of the information or the remainder of the first 30-day processing period, whichever is longer, to accept or deny the application. The medical marijuana card will be available within 5 business days from the application's approval date. Hence, it can take up to 35 days to receive your medical marijuana card from the county health department. The FCDPH address is:
Fresno County Department of Public Health
1221 Fulton Street
Fresno, CA 93721
Phone: (559) 600-3310
It is legal to consume cannabis in privately owned units in Fresno. However, you cannot consume cannabis if you live in publicly owned apartments or condos.
You may purchase cannabis at a Fresno dispensary by visiting an authorized dispensary facility with cash and a valid ID proving you are of legal age (21). To obtain medicinal cannabis, you must be enrolled with the California Medical Marijuana Program, be at least 18 years old, and visit a medical cannabis shop with your doctor's prescription.
It costs about $2,200 for one pound of high-quality recreational weed and about $1,850 for medical weed of the same quality. One ounce of medium quality recreational or medical weed costs $100, while one gram of medium quality recreational weed costs about $17.5.
The most popular cannabis strains in Fresno are:
No. You can only smoke weed in Fresno in a private residence out of public view. If you are living in a rented housing unit, you must obtain permission from the landlord before smoking cannabis on the property. You cannot smoke cannabis on federally owned lands.
The California MAUCRSA, which Fresno abides by, permits the purchase and possession of up to 28 grams of marijuana and 8 grams of marijuana-infused products per day for recreational use. Additionally, people may cultivate up to six plants per household in the city. In Fresno, medicinal marijuana users may buy and possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis every day. Patients with medical marijuana cards may also grow up to 12 immature cannabis plants and 6 mature cannabis plants at home.
No. It is illegal to ship cannabis across state lines into Fresno. You may be charged with drug trafficking, which attracts heavy fines and a jail term if caught by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). However, if you are transiting from one California location to Fresno, you may travel with cannabis properly secured and locked in the trunk of your car.
Yes, you may order cannabis online from dispensaries in the City of Fresno and have cannabis products delivered to your location.
Although some dispensaries advertise 24-hour services, Section 9-3310 of the Fresno Municipal Code stipulates that cannabis retail businesses may only operate between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Yes. Tourists can purchase weed from Fresno dispensaries as long as they provide identification showing that they are of legal age (21) to consume cannabis in California. However, tourists are not permitted to purchase medical weed except if they are registered medical marijuana patients in Fresno.
You only need a valid identification showing your date of birth as evidence that you are of legal age in order to purchase recreational cannabis in Fresno. However, you may present a medical marijuana card if you intend to purchase medical marijuana from a medical weed dispensary. Presenting a medical marijuana card will exempt your purchases from use and sales tax.
The top cannabis dispensaries in Fresno are:
Embarc Fresno Cannabis Dispensary
The Artist Tree Dispensary
Premier Cannabis National Institute
Fresno dispensaries may scan the IDs of buyers to ensure the documents are legitimate. However, they are not authorized to retain information relating to your personal records.
Per Section 9-3306 of the Fresno Municipal Code, no more than 14 cannabis retail businesses may be located within the city. However, up to 7 more cannabis retail businesses may be authorized by Council Resolution.
Fresno dispensaries do not typically accept credit cards due to federal law, which considers cannabis a banned substance. In order to make payments for cannabis purchases, take cash with you to the dispensary or prepare to use an ATM at the dispensary's location.
You can visit as many cannabis dispensaries as you want in a day. However, dispensaries will be aware of how much cannabis you have purchased and will not dispense more than the stipulated limits.
Weed buyers in Fresno must pay for cannabis purchases from their pockets as dispensaries do not accept health insurance.
Yes. Cannabis dispensaries in Fresno and California are required by law to keep track of how much consumers buy from their facilities; otherwise, they may be penalized with a hefty fine or even lose their cannabis licenses.
No. You cannot enter a recreational weed dispensary in Fresno unless you are 21 or older. However, persons aged 18 or older may visit medical weed dispensaries in the city to obtain medical cannabis.
The Office of Cannabis Oversight is the agency responsible for coordinating the implementation of cannabis laws and regulations in Fresno. You can find the agency's contact information on the Fresno government website.
If you notice illegal cannabis activities in Fresno, you may contact the Fresno Office of Cannabis Oversight or the Fresno Police Department.