Marijuana Dispensaries in Sacramento

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Sacramento?

Yes. Under Proposition 64, recreational marijuana was legalized in California, allowing the sales of adult-use marijuana to become legal in California. Although Proposition 64 permits municipalities to restrict the establishment and operations of cannabis businesses within their jurisdictions, cannabis dispensaries are allowed in the City of Sacramento pursuant to Section 17.228.920 of Article IX of the Sacramento City Code.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Sacramento?

Yes. Section 5.150.330 of the Sacramento Code permits the establishment of storefront cannabis dispensaries in the city. Under subsection B of Section 5.150.330, the city issues a Type M permit which allows the entity granted the permit to sell medical cannabis in the city.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Sacramento?

Yes. You can order online from weed dispensaries in Sacramento as the city permits weed dispensaries to deliver cannabis to qualified buyers. The city's laws on the delivery of cannabis within its borders are contained in Section 5.150.525 of Title 5 of the city code.

Visiting a Dispensary in Sacramento

Sacramento is a lively city with a contemporary ambiance. Its beautiful natural parks and vibrant districts are ideal for cannabis enthusiasts, considering recreational and medicinal marijuana consumption is permitted citywide for residents and tourists. If you intend to purchase marijuana from a dispensary in the City of Sacramento, you will be required to provide an acceptable ID showing you are of legal age.

Sacramento Dispensary Laws

Sacramento dispensary laws are contained in Article III of Title 5 of the Sacramento Code. Dispensary laws in the city include:

  • No individual may operate a storefront weed dispensary without a valid storefront dispensary permit

  • A storefront dispensary shall not allow cannabis, cannabis products, or cannabis accessories in its facilities to be visible from the public area or the main entrance and lobby of the facility

  • No individual under 21 may operate a storefront dispensary in any capacity

  • No individual under 18 may be in a storefront dispensary building unless such a person is a patient or a primary caregiver and is accompanied by the parent or legal guardian

  • A cannabis dispensary must not be located within 300 feet of a residential zone, 600 feet of a school, or tobacco retailer with 15,000 square feet or less of gross floor area

  • A cannabis dispensary must not be located within 600 feet of another storefront cannabis dispensary, religious institution, childcare facility, youth-oriented facility, park, in-home child care facility, cinema, or a substance-abuse center

  • Except where the Sacramento Manager imposes more restrictive hours, a storefront cannabis dispensary may only operate between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

Recreational Laws in Sacramento

Sacramento's recreational weed laws are similar to the state's laws on cannabis. These include:

  • Only adults over the age of 21 may cultivate, harvest, and possess cannabis products. Minors who violate this law must complete a compulsory 4-hour drug-education program or counseling, and up to 10 hours of community service

  • Residents may grow up to six cannabis plants at home, subject to the regulations under Title 8 of the Sacramento Health and Safety Code. An infringement of the 6-plant law is subject to a fine of $500 per plant in excess of the limit

  • Adults 21 or older are permitted to possess up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis flower and eight grams of cannabis concentrates

  • Driving under the influence of cannabis is prohibited

  • Smoking is illegal in public and in any location within 1,000 feet of a location where children are present

  • Edible cannabis products in the city must not contain more than 10 milligrams of THC and should be held in childproof packaging and adequately labeled

  • Transporting cannabis over state lines or waterways is unlawful

Medical Cannabis Laws in Sacramento

Medical marijuana laws in Sacramento are similar to the state's medical marijuana laws contained in the AUMA and MAUCRSA. In accordance with Chapter 8.132.040 of the Sacramento Code, the City of Sacramento permits the residential (indoor) cultivation of up to six plants for medicinal purposes. Patients may cultivate cannabis plants in an area no larger than 100 square feet, while primary caregivers may cultivate a maximum of 500 square feet for up to five patients.

While recreational consumers are required to be 21 or older to use cannabis products, residents may access medical cannabis products at 18 if they are eligible to use medical marijuana. Qualified medical marijuana users are exempted by law from paying sales tax when purchasing medical cannabis and are allowed to possess higher amounts than recreational users - up to 8 ounces of cannabis.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Sacramento

Medical marijuana (MMJ) cards are issued under the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP) of the State of California following the passage into law of SB 420. Note that it is not required for medical marijuana patients to obtain MMJ cards. To qualify for an MMJ card in Sacramento, you must:

  • Be aged 18

  • Suffer from one of the approved conditions, such as anorexia, cancer, cachexia, AIDS, glaucoma, seizures, chronic pain, or arthritis

  • Reside in Sacramento

Upon fulfilling the eligibility conditions for an MMJ card, follow these steps to complete the application:

  • Complete an MMIC application form

  • Provide proof of identity, such as a valid California DMV-issued driver's license or ID card, or another acceptable government-issued photo card

  • Provide proof of Sacramento residency, such as a valid California DMV motor vehicle registration, utility bill, or recent mortgage or rental agreement. This proof must bear your name and your current address in Sacramento

  • Provide written documentation from your physician or CDPH 9044 Form recommending the use of medical marijuana as appropriate for a serious medical condition

  • Provide your physician's name, contact information, and California medical license number

  • Provide a $100 application fee or a $50 fee if you are a beneficiary of Medi-Cal. Note that the Medi-Cal card will be required, and the application fee (standard or discounted) is non-refundable

Note that applications can only be completed at a scheduled appointment at the Sacramento County Office of Vital Records premises. Appointments at the Office are scheduled for Mondays and Fridays between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. The Office address is:

Sacramento County Vital Records

7001-A East Parkway, Suite 650

Sacramento, CA 95823

Phone: (916) 875-5345

Once an application has been approved, processing may take up to 35 days. If any information or documents are missing, the county public health division may delay the processing of your application. In such an instance, the Sacramento County Division of Public Health will contact you within 30 days of the application submission date to notify you of the missing papers or information.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Sacramento?

Consuming cannabis on privately owned properties in the City of Sacramento is legal. However, consuming weed in public areas, such as on the streets, workplaces, and in public or multi-housing units, is illegal and attracts a fine. Fines for such an act are even higher if cannabis consumption occurs within 1,000 feet of a youth center, daycare, or school while children are present.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Sacramento Dispensary

You can buy weed at a cannabis dispensary across the City of Sacramento. Many weed dispensaries are open till 10:00 p.m. and offer online ordering, curbside pickup, and delivery services. You must present an ID showing your age as evidence you are of legal age to purchase cannabis when you visit a marijuana dispensary.

The Average Price in Sacramento

In Sacramento, the average price of an eighth is $75. Pineapple OG costs $55, Purple Punch costs $30, Gelato costs $25, Double Cup costs $50, King's Cake costs $40, Fosilato costs $30, Creme Brulee costs $25, Pinot Noir costs $20, and Dos Fuegos costs $62.

Most Popular Strains in Sacramento

Purple Punch is the most popular cannabis strain in the City of Sacramento. This typical Indica strain has a pleasant, fruity flavor. Gelato is also another popular strain in Sacramento. In addition to being an Indica-dominant hybrid, it has a pleasant, fruity aroma with undertones of citrus, berries, and lavender.

Can You Smoke in Public in Sacramento?

No. You cannot smoke cannabis in public places in Sacramento. Smoking weed in public carries a fine of up to $100 and up to $250 if done where tobacco smoking is prohibited or within 1,000 feet of a daycare center, school, or youth center where minors are present.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Sacramento?

Adults over the age of 21 may possess up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis and eight grams of cannabis concentrate. Adult residents are authorized to cultivate a maximum of six cannabis plants in locked premises inaccessible to the public. Residents caught with quantities beyond the stipulated limits will be arrested for breaking the law.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Sacramento?

Shipping marijuana across state lines is a federal offense that can be penalized with harsh punishments. Hence, it is prohibited to ship cannabis from another state into the City of Sacramento. However, you can move cannabis from one California city to the City of Sacramento, provided it is kept in a sealed container in the vehicle's trunk.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Sacramento?

Yes, you can order weed online from many of the weed dispensaries in the City of Sacramento. Some of these dispensaries even offer free delivery on orders exceeding specific amounts.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Sacramento?

While some cannabis dispensaries advertise 24-hour services, Section 5.150.390 of Title 5 of the Sacramento Code stipulates that storefront dispensaries may only operate between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. daily.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Sacramento?

Yes. Tourists are permitted to visit and purchase from the marijuana dispensaries in the City of Sacramento, provided they are of legal age (21) and have government-issued IDs to prove that. However, tourists cannot use medical marijuana dispensaries in the city unless registered under the California medical marijuana program.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Sacramento?

You only need an ID showing your age to prove that you are old enough under the law to consume cannabis. No other form of identification is required when entering weed dispensaries in the city in order to purchase weed.

Best Dispensaries in Sacramento

The best dispensaries in the City of Sacramento are:

  • Florin Wellness

  • Green Solutions

  • Golden Health and Wellness

  • All about wellness

  • CC101

  • A Therapeutic Alternative

  • Cloud 9

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Sacramento?

Many marijuana dispensaries in the City of Sacramento scan IDs in compliance with state law requiring dispensaries to verify the ages of their customers. This also enables dispensaries to monitor customers' purchases to ensure they do not exceed the legal limit. By scanning IDs, the dispensary maintains order and efficiency, allowing customers to enter more quickly.

How Many Dispensaries are in Sacramento?

As of early 2020, there were 30 permitted cannabis storefront dispensaries in Sacramento. However, in November 2020, the City Council approved 10 additional permits for cannabis storefront delivery facilities exclusive to participants of the CORE (Cannabis Opportunity Reinvestment and Equity) Program. The City of Sacramento also permits the operations of non-storefront dispensaries within its jurisdiction. Cannabis no-storefront dispensaries are weed retail stores not open to the public as their retail transactions are carried out strictly by delivery only.

Can Dispensaries in Sacramento Take Credit Cards?

No. Cannabis dispensaries in the City of Sacramento do not accept credit cards. With cannabis remaining a Schedule I Controlled Substance under federal law, cannabis dispensaries do not have legal access to traditional banks. Hence, dispensaries in the City of Sacramento have no choice but to be only cash-only businesses.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You can visit multiple dispensaries in the city in one day. However, you cannot purchase more than the stipulated cannabis limit per day in California.

Do Dispensaries in Sacramento Take Health Insurance?

No. Visitors to marijuana dispensaries in the City of Sacramento must be ready to pay the full amount for cannabis products purchased, as cannabis dispensaries in the city do not accept health insurance for cannabis sales.

Do Dispensaries in Sacramento Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Yes. Sacramento dispensaries track how much weed you purchase to ensure total purchases are within the stipulated possession limits under the law.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Sacramento at Age 18?

No. You must be 21 or older to enter a City of Sacramento recreational weed dispensary. However, residents aged 18 or older may enter a medical weed dispensary.

Where Can I Find Sacramento Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

The agency responsible for regulating cannabis in the City of Sacramento is the Office of Cannabis Management under the Office of the City Manager. The Office of Cannabis Management handles business permitting, policy, and education on recreational cannabis within the City of Sacramento. You can find the Office's contact information on the City of Sacramento Website.

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Sacramento?

If you notice illegal cannabis activities in the City of Sacramento, you may file a report to the Sacramento Police Department, contact the Office of Cannabis Management at (916) 808-8955, or file a report to the city government by email at