Yes. Proposition 64, also called the Adult Use Marijuana Act, legalized adult-use marijuana in San Diego and the rest of California on November 8, 2016. The Act permitted the establishment of retail outlets for the sale and purchase of recreational marijuana. Cannabis outlets in San Diego are limited to a maximum of four per Council District and 36 citywide. The cannabis page of the San Diego website contains a map identifying the addresses of cannabis outlets approved in the city. Note that recreational weed dispensaries are banned in the unincorporated areas of San Diego.
Yes. Medical cannabis dispensaries operate under the Compassionate Use Act, which legalized medical cannabis in California in 1996. The city government website indicates that cannabis retail outlets (medical and recreational) in the city are restricted to 36 citywide and a maximum of four per Council District.
Yes. San Diego residents can purchase marijuana from retail outlets permitting buyers to place online orders. The city permits cannabis establishments to deliver weed to local addresses upon verifying the buyers' identities. There are no restrictions on the cannabis product type that may be sold at approved weed dispensaries. Residents can purchase pre-rolled joints, vaping devices, edible cannabis products, cannabis-infused drinks, and topical creams and soaps. However, deliveries are allowed as an accessory use only from cannabis retail outlets with a valid conditional use permit.
You can visit a cannabis dispensary in San Diego if you are 21 or older and intend to purchase cannabis. Before visiting a dispensary in the city, you must prepare payment in the form of cash and take an acceptable ID along. Weed Dispensaries in San Diego are referred to as marijuana or cannabis outlets.
Residential care facilities
Resource and population-based city parks
Other cannabis outlets
Also, cannabis outlets may not be allowed within 100 feet of a residential zone. Cannabis outlets must obtain a cannabis license under the Conditional Use Permit to operate in San Diego.
Marijuana use for recreational purposes is permitted for people aged 21 and older in San Diego. Adults of legal age in San Diego are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce or 28.35 grams of cannabis and 8 grams of concentrate. Retail sales of marijuana began in San Diego in 2018.
If you are traveling through San Diego, you may possess marijuana as long as it is contained inside a sealed container or the trunk of your car. According to California's Vehicle Code, any container that has been opened or whose seal has been broken is considered an open container of marijuana. Marijuana not stowed in a car's trunk when traveling violates the state's marijuana laws. Open container violations are penalized by a fine of up to $100 and may be considered aggravating circumstances in DUI cases.
Voters in California approved the Compassionate Use Act in 1996, making California the first state in the United States to allow the use of marijuana for the treatment of a broad variety of ailments. The Compassionate Use Act ensures that chronically ill Californians and their primary caregivers are not subject to criminal prosecution or consequences in California.
Through a statewide identification system, the California Department of Health Services developed the Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) in 2004 to ease the registration of qualifying patients and their caregivers. The county of residence will provide identity cards to qualified patients and their caregivers upon application. This card may be used to validate a patient's or caregiver's authorization to possess, cultivate, transport, and use medicinal marijuana in California.
After Proposition 64 legalized adult-use marijuana, the legislature approved the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA), providing a unified regulatory framework for both medical and adult-use marijuana. On January 1, 2018, MAUCRSA became effective. Under MAUCRSA, patients with valid medical marijuana identification cards are permitted to possess up to 6 mature plants and 226.8 grams of cannabis concentrate or dried cannabis. Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of any substance, even prescribed drugs, is illegal.
In order to be eligible to obtain a medical marijuana identification card in San Diego, you must have one or more of the qualifying medical conditions, including:
Persistent muscle spasm
Any condition that may significantly limit your ability to conduct basic life activities or that may inflict serious harm on your physical and mental health
The following will be required when submitting your application:
A completed medical marijuana ID application form
An acceptable government-issued photo ID, such as a California Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV)-issued driver's license or identification card. A Veteran's Administration Card or a United States Passport will also suffice
Proof of residency in San Diego. The proof must be in your name (patient) and bear a current physical address in the city
Written documentation or CDPH 9044 form from your attending physician recommending medical marijuana use as appropriate. This document must have an original signature and be on the physician's business letterhead or the CDPH 9044 form. The medical condition suffered by the patient must not be listed on the documentation
Your attending physician's name, contact address, and California medical license number
Non-refundable application fee of $22 for Medi-Cal beneficiaries or $44 for regular applicants. Payments may be made through cashier's checks, money orders, or cash
Current Medi-Cal card if you are a beneficiary or Beneficiary Identification Card (BIC)
Proof of emancipation. This is only applicable to emancipated minors. Non-emancipated minors must be accompanied by legal guardians or parents
Signed and completed application(s), with supporting documentation, must be submitted in person. Applications will be accepted by appointment at:
Public Health Services
3851 Rosecrans Street, Suite 802
San Diego, CA 92110
Phone: (619) 692-5723
If you do not want to return to the public health service office to pick up your Medical Marijuana Identification Card upon approval, you may take a prepaid FedEx envelope to your appointment. Note that the public health service office is open between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. It may take up to 5 weeks for your medical marijuana ID card to be issued.
In San Diego, public marijuana consumption is prohibited. Although cannabis use is permitted in the privacy of one’s home, landlords and business owners may restrict it on their properties. Additionally, cannabis use is prohibited within 1,000 feet of daycares and schools, particularly while minors are present. Additionally, if you are new to the San Diego area and are still seeking employment, your employer may have a policy prohibiting marijuana use among workers. Note also that it is illegal to consume cannabis on federally owned lands or locations in San Diego.
You can buy cannabis at a San Diego dispensary by visiting the location of the approved dispensary with cash and valid identification as evidence that you are of legal age (21). If you intend to purchase medical cannabis, you must be registered under the California Medical Marijuana Program, be aged 18 or older, and visit the medical cannabis dispensary with your medical marijuana card and physician’s recommendation.
The average price of an ounce of high-quality cannabis strain in San Diego is $100.
The most popular cannabis strains in San Diego are:
Although marijuana is legal, public use is still prohibited. California's tobacco products' public smoking rules also apply to cannabis use. The California Health & Safety Code prohibits smoking, vaporizing, or ingesting cannabis and similar items in any public location, including parks, walkways, businesses, and residences. A $100 fine is imposed for the violation of the public consumption law. In order to legally smoke, vape, or consume cannabis on private property, you must be in a location where smoking tobacco products is not forbidden. In San Diego, property owners and landlords may prohibit the use and possession of marijuana and marijuana-related products on their properties.
Pursuant to the MAUCRSA, you can purchase and possess up to 28 grams of cannabis and 8 grams of cannabis-infused products for recreational use per day. Also, adults can grow up to six plants at home in the city. Medical marijuana patients can buy and possess up to 8 ounces of medical cannabis daily in San Diego. Medical cannabis patients can also cultivate up to 12 immature cannabis plants and 6 mature plants at home.
You may only ship cannabis if you are moving from one California location to another. However, you cannot ship cannabis from another state into San Diego as cannabis shipping across state lines is illegal and attracts severe penalties.
Yes, you can order both medical and adult-use marijuana in San Diego. Marijuana dispensaries typically accept cash and debit cards for online orders; some even offer home deliveries at no extra charge. In certain cases, you may be allowed to link your bank account with the store to pay directly at checkout. Note that service charges may apply for payments made with debit cards.
24-hour dispensaries do not exist in San Diego. Per Ordinance 20793 of the City of San Diego, marijuana outlets can only operate between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. daily.
Tourists to San Diego with a valid state or federal ID can purchase recreational marijuana in the city. However, tourists cannot buy medical marijuana unless they apply to the California Medical Marijuana Program.
To buy recreational marijuana from an approved marijuana dispensary in San Diego, you must show a State of California-issued identification or a federal ID. Hence, a California-issued driver's license or federal ID will suffice. If you are visiting a medical marijuana dispensary, you will require a state-issued medical marijuana card before you may be permitted to purchase medical cannabis.
Several brick-and-mortar shops offer locals and tourists quality cannabis products and competitive prices on marijuana flowers, topicals, vapes, and edibles. The following are the best cannabis dispensaries in San Diego:
March and Ash
Pakalolo Sunshine Cannabis Delivery
Golden State Greens
High Octane Express
You can also find top weed dispensaries in San Diego using the search query "best dispensaries near me" or "weed dispensaries near me" on any typical online search engine or tool.
Cannabis retail outlets in San Diego are not required to scan your private information. You only need to present your ID as proof of legal age if you are purchasing adult-use cannabis or as authorization to purchase medical cannabis. However, some stores scan customers' IDs and keep their personal information.
According to a San Diego County report published in 2018, San Diego has the most significant amount of legally operational recreational cannabis shops in the county, with 14 cannabis dispensaries.
No. For the most part, cannabis sales remain a cash-only business. Most of the cannabis outlets in San Diego feature ATMs within their facilities, allowing cannabis buyers to withdraw cash for purchases.
There is no restriction on the number of dispensaries you can visit in a day in San Diego. However, there is a limit to the quantity of marijuana you can purchase and possess daily in the city.
San Diego dispensaries do not take health insurance from buyers looking to purchase cannabis products.
All cannabis outlets in San Diego are required to use the California Cannabis Track and Trace (CCTT) system to track the cannabis and cannabis products through the supply chain. CCTT is based on Metrc software, a web-based software. The state tracks sales data through the Metrc software.
You cannot enter a San Diego recreational marijuana dispensary unless you are 21 or older. Marijuana dispensaries typically have security personnel who verify visitors' ages by requesting a state-issued identification or a federal ID. However, medical marijuana dispensaries are open to residents aged 18 or older who are registered medical marijuana patients.
The Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) is the primary agency regulating cannabis in San Diego and the rest of California. For more information on reaching the DCC, visit the Contact Us page of the California Cannabis website.
You can report illegal cannabis activities in San Diego using the File a Complaint button on the Department of Cannabis Control website. You may contact the city police department using the file a police report tool on the City of San Diego website.