Yes. The cannabis dispensaries in the City of Concord, among other cannabis businesses, are regulated by the City Council in compliance with California cannabis law. According to Section 5.80.030 of the Concord Municipal Code, two types of dispensaries can be established within the city borders: city cannabis non-storefront retailers and city cannabis storefront retailers. Cannabis non-storefront dispensaries are closed to the public and sell cannabis and cannabis products to consumers from physical locations through delivery. On the other hand, cannabis storefront dispensaries operate from fixed physical locations and allow physical access for marijuana consumers.
The ordinance adopted by the City of Concord in 2020 limited the number of cannabis storefront dispensaries and cannabis non-storefront to three each. It also approved the establishment of two cannabis microbusinesses with a storefront retailer component. According to Cannabis business news, Concord's first adult-use cannabis storefront dispensary opened for business in August 2022. The Adult Use of Marijuana Act, otherwise known as Proposition 64, had, in 2016, legalized cannabis use for recreational purposes in California.
Currently, there are no medical cannabis dispensaries in the City of Concord, and many medical cannabis patients in the city ask; can I get cannabis from a medical cannabis dispensary near me? They can enter cannabis dispensaries in neighboring cities or towns for their cannabis needs in compliance with the California Compassionate Use Act.
Yes. Residents can buy cannabis from online weed dispensaries in the City of Concord. The City Municipal Code allows the establishment of non-storefront dispensaries; they may also operate online weed stores.
Visiting a weed dispensary in Concord requires carrying a government-issued ID and having cash on hand for purchase. The ID card is needed to verify that a buyer is at least 21 years old. Per Section 26140 of the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA), a licensed cannabis dispensary must not sell cannabis or cannabis products to persons under 21. Registered patients or caregivers in Concord must hold their medical marijuana program identification cards when visiting medical cannabis dispensaries near the city.
It is rare to find a weed dispensary that has cannabis products displayed on its sales floor. So, when visiting a weed dispensary in Concord, expect to see a dedicated budtender whose primary duty is to guide buyers through a weed dispensary's product offerings.
Concord dispensary laws are specified in Sections 5.80.080 and 5.80.090 of the City Municipal Code. These include:
Cannabis dispensaries must load and unload cannabis products inside an enclosed space in the dispensary
Security personnel must monitor every activity of a cannabis dispensary within 150 feet of the dispensary entrance to ensure that cannabis is not being consumed in the vicinity
Cannabis dispensaries must store marijuana or marijuana products not intended for immediate sale or display purposes in a locked and secured vault, safe, or room to prevent loss, diversion, or theft
A storefront cannabis dispensary must not engage in cannabis sales exclusively by delivery
Cannabis dispensaries must prevent cannabis odors from escaping the dispensary building to the extent that a reasonable person with normal sensitivity cannot perceive the odor outside the dispensary
Storefront cannabis dispensaries must be closed to consumers between 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m.
Cannabis dispensaries must not permit the consumption of weed on site
Weed dispensaries must not store, sell, distribute, or allow the consumption of tobacco products or any alcoholic beverages on their premises
The City of Concord adopts the recreational cannabis laws outlined in the California Adult Use of Marijuana Act (Proposition 64). These laws include:
Persons under 21 years old must not ingest or smoke cannabis or cannabis products
Adults 21 years or older may cultivate, possess, harvest, dry, or process up to six cannabis plants per residence for personal use
Persons 21 years or older may only possess up to 28.5 grams of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis. They may also give away these quantities to other adults 21 years or older but must do so without compensation
It is illegal to use cannabis in public places or within 1,000 feet of a youth center, school, or daycare
Using marijuana on federal lands within Concord is prohibited
It is a federal offense to take marijuana across state lines
Furthermore, Section 5.80.100 of Concord Municipal Code prohibits outdoor cultivation of recreational cannabis for commercial, personal, or any other purposes. Indoor cannabis cultivation must only be for personal purposes and may only be done within a private residence or a structure on land developed with a private residence. The cultivation area must be fully enclosed, secure, and locked in compliance with state law.
Medical cannabis laws in Concord hinge on the California Compassionate Use Act (Proposition 215). Under Proposition 215:
Registered patients with qualifying medical conditions and their primary caregivers with a California-licensed physician's recommendation can cultivate and possess cannabis for personal medical use. The amount of cannabis a patient can grow depends on the patient's needs
Patients may possess whatever amount of cannabis is needed for their personal medical use but may face arrest if they exceed reasonable amounts
Possession or use of medical cannabis on federal lands in the City of Concord is illegal
Patients under 18 years must use medical cannabis under the supervision of their parents or designated caregivers
Except on school buses or in private residences, medicinal cannabis in Concord must not be used within 1,000 feet of a youth center or school
According to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), residents can obtain medical marijuana identification cards at their county programs. Hence, Concord residents can get medical marijuana identification cards at the Contra Costa Health Services. However, the process is by appointment only. Qualifying patients may contact the Contra Costa Vital Registration at (925) 313-1126 to schedule an appointment for medical marijuana identification card application.
While appearing on the appointed date, a medical marijuana identification card applicant in Concord should go with the following:
Completed Medical Marijuana Program Application/Renewal Form
Proof of residency, such as a utility or phone bill showing the applicant's current address in Concord
A written statement from a California-licensed physician declaring that the applicant has a severe medical condition and that using medical cannabis would be appropriate. The physician may complete the Written Documentation of Patient's Medical Records Form or issue the statement on official letterhead
A valid government-issued identification card, such as a California driver's license or the U.S. passport
Applicants are required to pay a non-refundable $100 fee to get medical marijuana identification cards in Concord, but Medi-Cal participants are only charged $50. Contra Costa Health Services accept money order, cash, and credit/debit card (card users will pay an additional $2.50 as a service charge) as forms of payment. Once an appointment is scheduled, an applicant should visit Contra Costa Health Services with the required documents at:
Contra Costa Public Health Vital Registration and Medical Marijuana ID Card Program
10 Douglass Drive, Suite #220
Martinez, CA 94553
The agency will take an applicant's photo on the appointment date and send it alongside their information to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) for verification. Once the CDPH verifies, it will process and dispatch the applicant's medical marijuana identification card to Contra Costa Vital Registration. Typically, the registration process may take up to 35 days. The applicant may choose to have it delivered by mail or pick it up at the Contra Costa Vital Registration office.
The only legal place to use or consume cannabis in Concord is a private residence, subject to any rule made by the landlord. Consuming weed in a public place or within 1,000 feet of a daycare center, youth center, or school is illegal. Furthermore, California law prohibits smoking cannabis in places designated as illegal for tobacco smoking. Consuming marijuana on federal lands in Concord is also illegal
Concord residents can visit approved weed dispensaries in the city to buy cannabis or cannabis products. An online search using "weed dispensaries in Concord" or "cannabis dispensaries near me" will return a list of licensed cannabis dispensaries in the city, neighboring city, or nearby town.
Individuals must present a government-issued ID showing they are at least 21 years old to buy recreational weed. Registered patients intending to fill their prescriptions must visit a dispensary with their medical marijuana identification cards and valid IDs to prove that they are 18 years or older. Most cannabis dispensaries accept only cash as payment means, so it is best to hold cash while visiting one.
The price of cannabis products in Concord varies depending on product type. However, high-quality cannabis in the city costs around $15 per gram and about $270 an ounce. Medium-quality weed is sold for an average of $215 in Concord.
Weed comes in different strains. While some produce energizing effects and can help combat depression or fatigue, others provide relaxing effects and help relieve chronic pains. Cannabis strains are generally categorized as Indica, Sativa, and hybrid. The most popular strains of weed in Concord are:
Girl scout cookies (GSK)
No. Smoking marijuana in public in Concord is illegal and a punishable offense. California law prohibits smoking cannabis in public places and other places where smoking tobacco is unlawful. It also bans smoking of cannabis within 1,000 feet of a youth center, school, or daycare center. In 2020, Concord adopted Ordinance NO. 19-7 to prohibit smoking and vaping of certain substances, including cannabis, in and around (interior and exterior areas) multi-unit houses and attached structures.
In Concord, adults 21 years or older may carry 8 grams of concentrated cannabis and 28.5 grams of cannabis plant per time. This complies with the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA). Also, if a person is at least 21, they can grow up to six living cannabis plants at home for personal purposes.
No. The Federal Controlled Substances Act describes cannabis as a Schedule I substance. Hence, shipping it in or out of Concord via mail by the U.S. Postal Services or other private mail carriers is a federal offense.
Yes. Concord residents can order cannabis from online weed dispensaries in the city or neighboring cities and have them delivered to their physical addresses.
No. Per Section 5.80.080(e) of Concord Municipal Code, no storefront cannabis dispensary may open before 7:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. daily. A weed dispensary must obtain approval from the city's Chief of Police if they intend to operate for 24 hours daily.
Yes. Tourists can use weed dispensaries in Concord, provided they are at least 21 years old and can present a valid government-issued identification card showing their age.
Yes. Licensed cannabis dispensaries in Concord will request buyers to provide valid government-issued ID showing their photo and age before selling cannabis or cannabis-infused products.
The best cannabis dispensaries in Concord are those licensed by California's Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) and they usually display their unique QR codes conspicuously in their shops. The QR codes enable consumers to verify weed dispensaries' license statuses. Currently, only one cannabis dispensary, Coastal Retail LLC, operates in Concord. Concord residents may search online using “the best dispensaries near me” for the best dispensaries in nearby cities and towns. Some of the best weed dispensaries surrounding Concord may even be black-owned dispensaries.
Yes. Cannabis dispensaries in Concord request consumers to present Valid photo IDs once they enter their shops to identify fake IDs and determine if they are at least 21 years old.
Concord Municipal Code limits the number of cannabis dispensaries the city may have to three cannabis storefront cannabis dispensaries and three cannabis non-store dispensaries. It also approves two cannabis microbusinesses with a storefront retailer component.
No. The preferred and acceptable means of payment by cannabis dispensaries in Concord is cash.
There is no limit to the number of dispensaries a person can visit in and around Concord in one day. What is limited is the amount of cannabis or cannabis-infused products they may possess at a time.
No. Cannabis dispensaries in Concord do not take health insurance for cannabis-infused product sales. Weed is federally prohibited. Hence, no health insurance company in California will include coverage for marijuana treatment in its health policy.
Yes. California is among the states that track weed movement through the supply chain. Weed dispensaries in Concord are expected to track how much weed a person buys using the California Cannabis Track and Trace to ensure no consumer exceeds the legal limit set by the state.
Weed dispensaries in Concord require a person to be at least 21 years old to enter their shops for recreational cannabis. However, city residents who are 18 and registered in the state's medical marijuana program may enter medical cannabis dispensaries in neighboring cities or towns with their medical marijuana identification cards.
The Concord City Council occasionally meets to amend Chapter 5.80 of the Municipal Code (Cannabis Ordinance), an ordinance regulating the city's cannabis businesses. Residents can contact them at (925) 671-3158 or via email for any cannabis-related inquiries. Alternatively, they may contact the state regulatory agency, the DCC, at 1 (844) 612‑2322 or by email.
Illegal cannabis activities in Concord can be reported by contacting the Concord Police Department at (925) 671-3333 or via email.