Marijuana Dispensaries in Richmond

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Richmond?

Yes. Per Chapter 15.04.610.270 of the Richmond Municipal Code, cannabis dispensaries are approved to operate within the city's borders provided such entities have obtained Conditional Use Permits and Cannabis Business Permits. Cannabis retail outlets are permitted under the Adult Use of Marijuana Act approved by California voters in 2016. AUMA legalized adult-use cannabis in the state.

Richmond permits new marijuana dispensaries established after the enactment of its current marijuana ordinance to be located in a CR Regional Commercial Zoning District. However, upon a public hearing, the Richmond Planning Commission may permit a retail outlet to be located in a CG General Commercial Zoning District.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Richmond?

Yes. Medical marijuana dispensaries are legal in the City of Richmond. Section 15.04.610.270 of the Richmond Municipal Code permits the operations of medical cannabis retail outlets in the city. Medical cannabis was legalized in California in 1996 via the Compassionate Use Act (CUA). CUA allowed for the establishment of medical cannabis retail outlets across the state. Unlike several other California cities, Richmond has opted not to ban the operations of medical marijuana dispensaries within its limits. Medical marijuana dispensaries may also be located within the CR Regional Commercial Zoning District or, in specific restricted conditions, the CG General Commercial Zoning District.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Richmond?

Yes. Richmond allows cannabis retail outlets in the city to deliver cannabis to buyers. Hence, Richmond residents can purchase weed from online dispensaries in the city.

Visiting a Dispensary in Richmond

When visiting a weed dispensary in Richmond, keep the following in mind:

  • Age restrictions: You must be 21 or older to enter an adult-use dispensary in the city. Dispensary employees will check your ID at the door to ensure compliance with state and local law. If you want to purchase medical marijuana products, you must be 18 or older and have an MMJ card or a physician's recommendation for medical marijuana use

  • Hold cash: Most dispensaries do not accept credit cards. So, you should hold cash for your purchases or prepare to use a nearby ATM at the dispensary

  • You will not be able to handle the products: Although dispensary staff will show you the various cannabis products on offer, you are unlikely to be able to touch them unless you purchase them

  • Consumption policy: You will not be able to consume cannabis on the premises of the facility where you make your purchase. Do not expect to use cannabis at the dispensary

  • Expect help from the attendants: Most dispensaries employ budtenders or staff who are knowledgeable on cannabis products and their suitability for varying uses. So, do not be ashamed to share your expectations or requirements from potential purchases with the dispensary staff attending to you

Richmond Dispensary Laws

Per 15.04.610.270 of the Richmond Municipal Code, the following law guide the operations of cannabis dispensaries in the city:

  • A marijuana dispensary may not be located within 1,500 feet of a public or private high school and 600 feet of a kindergarten, elementary, or middle or junior high school

  • A marijuana dispensary may not be located within 600 feet of a park, community center, youth center, and childcare center

  • Cannabis consumption may not occur on the premises or at the parking areas of cannabis dispensaries

  • Cannabis sales may only occur between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

  • Cannabis dispensaries must confirm that visitors to their facilities are aged 21 or older or at least 18 with a valid physician's recommendation to purchase, possess, or use cannabis or cannabis products

  • Dispensaries must take necessary precautions to prohibit loitering on their premises for illegal purposes

  • No cannabis dispensary may obtain or distribute cannabis products from any commercial cannabis business unless such a business has a valid permit or license issued by the Department of Cannabis Control and a California city or county

Recreational Laws in Richmond

Cannabis use and activities are legal in the City of Richmond as the city issues licenses and permits regarding the establishment or operation of commercial cannabis activities. Other laws in the Richmond Municipal Code are adapted under the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act. Such laws include:

  • Cannabis smoking is illegal in any non-smoking area of a multi-unit residence

  • Cannabis smoking in public places is illegal

  • No more than six cannabis plants may be cultivated at a time at a single private residence or on a single parcel of property within the approved zones

  • Indoor cannabis cultivation for personal use is legal but may not impact the primary occupancy of the building or structure, including regular use of bathrooms or kitchens

  • Cannabis cultivation may only be conducted by persons aged 21 or older or by persons 18 years or older with a valid physician's recommendation

  • No cannabis odors must be detectable from offsite, and the use of odor prevention devices may be utilized if necessary

  • Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal

  • Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal

Medical Cannabis Laws in Richmond

The Richmond Municipal Code allows the use, possession, sale, and delivery of medical marijuana within the city. The city-specific cannabis use and possession laws are derived from the California MAUCRSA. Residents of Richmond over 18 may register as medical marijuana patients and get medical marijuana identification cards per the MAUCRSA. Medical marijuana patients in Richmond can possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis concentrate and grow 6 mature or 12 immature cannabis plants.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Richmond

You can obtain an MMJ (medical marijuana) card by submitting an application to the Contra Costa Department of Health Services. Per state law, medical marijuana cards may only be obtained at county offices under the California Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP). You may schedule an appointment by calling the Contra Costa Vital Registration office at (915) 313-1126.

Note that to be eligible for a medical marijuana identification card, you must:

  • Reside in Richmond

  • Be aged 18 or older

  • Have obtained certification that you suffer from an approved health condition

The following will be required at your appointment with the Contra Costa Department of Health Services:

  • Completed medical marijuana card application form

  • A written statement from your physician DO or MD, stating that you have a serious medical condition and that medical marijuana use would be appropriate

  • Valid government-issued photo ID

  • Utility or phone bill with your current Richmond address

  • Application fee of $100. You are eligible for a 50% discount if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary. You may make payment by cash, money order, debit card, or credit card. If you are using a debit or credit card, an additional service charge fee of $2.50 will be required

Application submission must be made at:

Contra Costa Public Health Vital Registration &

Medical Marijuana ID Card Program

10 Douglas Drive, Ste #220

Martinez, CA 94553

Phone: (925) 313-1126

Fax: (925) 313-1127

Note that at the appointment, the Contra Costa Vital Registration office staff will have your photograph taken. Following the approval of your application, the county office will contact you to pick up your card.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Richmond?

Richmond allows cannabis use on privately owned properties. Cannabis use is prohibited when driving or riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Richmond Dispensary

You may buy weed from a Richmond dispensary by placing an online order or visiting the physical address of the dispensary. To find Richmond dispensary locations, enter the search term "marijuana dispensaries near me" online search engine. Note that an acceptable photo ID showing you are aged 21 or older and cash will be required to purchase marijuana.

The Average Price in Richmond

One gram of high-quality weed in Richmond costs about $25, while an ounce costs about $350.

Most Popular Strains in Richmond

Some popular cannabis strains in Richmond are:

  • Fresh Apple Fritters

  • Gorilla Glue

  • Granddaddy Purple

  • Blue Dream

  • Jack Herer

  • OG Kush

  • White Widow

Can You Smoke in Public in Richmond?

No. No. Smoking cannabis in public is not permitted in Richmond. Sections 9.56 and 9.57 of the Richmond Municipal Code contain the city smoking laws and expressly prohibit cannabis smoking in public areas, public events, and multi-unit residences. Smoking is illegal in private residential properties used as childcare or healthcare facilities.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Richmond?

Under state and municipal law, residents of Richmond may possess up to 28.5 grams of cannabis flower or pre-rolled joints. Due to the increased quantities of Delta-9 THC in cannabis concentrates like cannabis oil, wax, and shatter, the possession limit is lower for these items. The legislation allows the possession of up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrates.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Richmond?

While marijuana is legal in Richmond and a number of other U.S. jurisdictions, it remains a federally prohibited narcotic. Crossing state boundaries into Richmond involves interstate transportation and is therefore regulated by federal law. Hence, shipping weed across state lines into Richmond is illegal and may result in federal charges and punishment.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Richmond?

Yes. It is legal to order cannabis online as Richmond permits the delivery of cannabis or cannabis products within its borders.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Richmond?

Per the Richmond Municipal Code, cannabis dispensaries in the city are only permitted to operate between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Richmond?

Yes, tourists in Richmond may use adult-use marijuana dispensaries in the city as long as they present acceptable IDs showing they are of legal age (21). The requirement is different for tourists intending to visit medical marijuana dispensaries. Such tourists must be registered with the California medical marijuana program before visiting medical marijuana dispensaries in the city.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Richmond?

You must present an ID showing you are 21 or older to enter a Richmond adult-use dispensary. Only persons visiting medical marijuana dispensaries in the city must provide medical marijuana cards or physician’s recommendations before entering such facilities.

Best Dispensaries in Richmond

7 stars Holistic Healing Center, Green Remedy, and Granddaddy Purple Collective are the best cannabis dispensaries in Richmond.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Richmond?

Weed dispensaries in Richmond may scan your ID to keep track of your purchases to ensure you do not purchase more than the stipulated limits. However, no city ordinance or state law requires Richmond dispensaries to scan your ID to keep your personal information.

How Many Dispensaries are in Richmond?

Per Section 15.04.610.270 (F)(4) of the Richmond Municipal Code, no more than three commercial cannabis retail facilities may be permitted to operate in Richmond.

Can Dispensaries in Richmond Take Credit Cards?

Marijuana dispensaries in Richmond do not accept credit cards for purchases. Cash is often the preferred form of receiving payment.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You may visit more than one marijuana dispensary in one day in Richmond. However, with retail outlets required to track how much cannabis visitors purchase, you will not be able to buy more than the limits imposed under state law.

Do Dispensaries in Richmond Take Health Insurance?

No. Richmond marijuana dispensaries do not accept health insurance.

Do Dispensaries in Richmond Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Yes. Richmond weed dispensaries are required by law to keep track of sales made. This is necessary to ensure visitors do not exceed the stipulated purchase limits.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Richmond at Age 18?

No, you cannot enter an adult-use cannabis dispensary in Richmond at 18. You must be at least 21 before you may be allowed to enter a recreational cannabis dispensary in the city. However, at 18, you may enter a medical marijuana dispensary in the city if you have a medical marijuana (MMJ) card or a physician's recommendation for medical marijuana.

Where Can I Find the Richmond Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

For inquiries on cannabis use and operations in the City of Richmond, contact the Richmond Manager or the California Department of Cannabis Control (DCC).

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Richmond?

To file a complaint about illegal cannabis activities in Richmond, you may contact the Richmond Police Department or the California Department of Cannabis Control.