No. According to Section 413.1.020%20Dispensaries%20of%20medicinal%20and,City%2C%20even%20for%20medical%20purposes.) of the Torrance Municipal Code, marijuana dispensaries are not permitted in the City of Torrance. This section of the city code prohibits all commercial cannabis activities in Torrance. Hence, the City of Torrance is one of the California cities making use of the provisions of the state cannabis law, which permits cities and counties to ban cannabis businesses within their jurisdiction.
No. Per Section 413.1.020 of the Torrance Ordinance, medical marijuana dispensaries may not operate in the City of Torrance. The city does not issue a permit, license, or entitlement for the establishment of a medical marijuana dispensary in the city.
No. Online cannabis sales are illegal in Torrance.
There are no authorized marijuana dispensaries in Torrance.
Cannabis dispensaries are currently illegal in Torrance. Therefore, no laws pertaining to the operations of cannabis dispensaries have been approved by the city council.
Recreational cannabis consumers cannot currently purchase adult-use marijuana in the city because local recreational cannabis regulations prohibit the operation of marijuana businesses inside city borders. With outdoor marijuana cultivation and commercial cannabis operations illegal in the city, Torrance's recreational laws are based on the California Medical and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act's (MAUCRSA) possession and use regulations. These include:
Torrance residents aged 21 or older may possess, process, transport, purchase, obtain, or give away to individuals 21 years or older up to 28.5 grams of marijuana
Torrance adults may possess, plant, cultivate, harvest, and dry up to six living marijuana plants
Cannabis cultivation in the City of Torrance may only occur inside private residences or accessory structures to private residences located on the grounds of the private residences. Such structures must be fully enclosed and secure
Marijuana smoking or ingesting is not permitted in accordance with Section 11362.1 (a)(4) of the California Health and Safety Code
Gifting of marijuana accessories to persons aged 21 or older may occur without any compensation whatsoever
Driving while under the influence of cannabis is illegal
Cannabis consumption within 1,000 feet of a childcare facility or school is illegal
The medical cannabis laws in Torrance are predicated on the California Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act. While the city bans commercial medical marijuana operations, residents may register with the state medical marijuana program at age 18 or older. Torrance medical marijuana patients may cultivate higher limits of marijuana plants than recreational cannabis users. Typically, registered medical marijuana patients can grow up to 12 marijuana plants indoors without legal repercussions. They may also possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana products. Under the state medical marijuana identification card program, residents of Torrance who are under 18 may be eligible to register in the program by designating adult caregivers to help administer medical marijuana.
To be eligible for a medical marijuana identification (MMIC) card in Torrance, you must be 18 years old, live in Torrance, and be certified to suffer from an approved condition. Such conditions include glaucoma, migraine, anorexia, AIDS, cancer, cachexia, persistent muscle spasms, and arthritis.
Torrance residents may only apply for an MMIC by mail or at a scheduled appointment at the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health (LADPH). To make an appointment with the LADPH, contact the Department at (866) 621-2204.
At your appointment with the LADPH, the following will be required:
A completed application form
A completed Physician Attestation
A completed Acknowledgment form
Valid government-issued photo ID, such as a California driver’s license, Veteran’s Administration Card, or United States Passport
Proof of residence in Torrance
A non-refundable application fee of $100 or $50 if you are a Los Angeles Medical Service Program (CMSP) or Medi-Cal beneficiary. You may make payment using a money order or cashier's check made payable to "Los Angeles County." Note that the original CMSP or Medi-Cal card must be provided when applying as a Los Angeles CMSP OR Medi-Cal beneficiary
If you plan to submit your application by mail, you are required to include a current passport-sized color photo taken within the last month. Otherwise, a member of the LADPH staff will photograph you during your appointment. To submit your MMIC application by mail, send it to:
Attention: Medical Marijuana Program
Environmental Health Headquarters
5050 Commerce Drive
Baldwin Park, CA 91706
If you are submitting your MMIC application at a scheduled appointment, the LADPH may schedule you for any of its locations at:
5050 Commerce Dr.
Baldwin Park, CA 91706
9800 S. La Cienega Blvd
Inglewood, CA 90301
It may take 4-6 weeks for your medical marijuana card to be ready. A member of the LADPH staff will call you once your ID card is available for collection. The card may also be mailed to the address indicated on the application if a return envelope is included.
If you reside in Torrance, you can use cannabis in a private residence. If you live in a leased or rented unit, you must obtain authorization from your property manager or landlord to consume cannabis on the property.
You cannot yet buy cannabis legally in Torrance as the city does not permit the establishment of marijuana dispensaries.
Torrance does not permit cannabis sales within its borders.
Cannabis is only currently purchased illegally in Torrance as the sale of cannabis and cannabis products is illegal.
No. You cannot smoke cannabis in public in Torrance. Even for Torrance residents registered as medical marijuana patients with medical marijuana cards, smoking marijuana in public is illegal.
Torrance adults who are at least 21 years old can legally possess up to 28.5 grams of marijuana and up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. With a medical marijuana license, adults between 18 and 20 can legally buy and possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana and 12 living cannabis plants.
No. It is against the law to ship marijuana across state lines into Torrance. This is because the federal government regulates interstate commerce. Despite the change in marijuana’s legal status in many states, the federal Controlled Substances Act still asserts that cannabis is an illegal drug in the United States. So, bringing cannabis from another state into Torrance is a federal crime that may lead to harsh punishments.
No. The City of Torrance prohibits the operations of non-storefront cannabis retail outlets and cannabis delivery within its limits.
No. No cannabis dispensaries are currently authorized to operate in Torrance.
Tourists cannot legally visit weed dispensaries in Torrance as there are no approved cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Currently, it is illegal to purchase weed within Torrance, as weed dispensaries are illegal in the city.
Torrance prohibits the operations of marijuana dispensaries within its jurisdiction.
The City of Torrance has not approved any dispensary to operate in the city.
There are no dispensaries authorized to dispense marijuana in the City of Torrance.
Dispensaries are not permitted to operate within the borders of Torrance.
You cannot yet visit a dispensary in the City of Torrance, as cannabis dispensaries are prohibited in the city.
There are no authorized weed dispensaries in the City of Torrance.
There are no approved dispensaries in the city.
Purchasing marijuana is illegal in Torrance.
No department or division in the City of Torrance has been tasked with regulating cannabis in the city. However, inquiries about cannabis operations in the city may be directed to the Torrance Manager or the California Department of Cannabis Control. You can find the Torrance Manager's contact information on the Torrance Government website.
To report illegal cannabis activities, such as outdoor cannabis cultivation, cannabis smoking, and commercial cannabis operations in Torrance, contact the Torrance police department or file a complaint with the California DCC (Department of Cannabis Control).