Marijuana Dispensaries in Costa Mesa

  1. California Cannabis
  2. Orange County Cannabis
  3. Marijuana Dispensaries in Costa Mesa

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Costa Mesa?

Yes. Pursuant to Costa Mesa’s Measure Q, marijuana dispensaries are permitted to operate within the borders of the City of Costa Mesa. Costa Mesa voters voted in favor of Measure Q in 2020, allowing licensed cannabis dispensaries and cannabis delivery establishments to operate in the city. However, retail outlets only began operating in the city in 2022.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Costa Mesa?

Yes. Costa Mesa’s Measure Q allows medical marijuana dispensaries to be established in the city. Although medical marijuana was legalized in California in 1996, the state cannabis law permits municipalities to enact ordinances prohibiting the operations of cannabis establishments in their jurisdictions. City voters only approved medical marijuana retail outlets in 2020.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Costa Mesa?

Yes. Costa Mesa residents can purchase cannabis online in the city. Costa Mesa’s Measure Q permits cannabis delivery. Hence, cannabis buyers may have their purchases delivered to their homes.

Visiting a Dispensary in Costa Mesa

Cannabis enthusiasts often find visits to dispensaries in the city gratifying. These facilities usually have employees trained and willing to make experiences satisfying for visitors. Even for persons who do not know specific cannabis products to purchase, dispensary employees are typically honest persons willing to educate buyers on what to buy and expect from particular cannabis strains.

However, before you may be permitted to enter a dispensary in the city, you must show a valid government-issued ID. To buy cannabis, you must be at least 21 years old. However, if you are 18 and have a medical marijuana card issued by California, you may buy marijuana. Almost every California dispensary has security personnel. Many establishments have surveillance cameras and security guards who check IDs and keep order.

Visitors to cannabis dispensaries in the city are advised to bring cash to complete their transactions. Note that most banks and credit card firms will not do business with shops as long as cannabis remains federally prohibited. Hence, cash is typically the preferred option for cannabis dispensaries. If you forget to bring cash to a dispensary or bring enough cash for your purchases, you can use an ATM on the premises to withdraw cash. Note that extra ATM service fees may apply.

Costa Mesa Dispensary Laws

Cannabis dispensaries are permitted in Costa Mesa. The following laws pertain to the operations of cannabis dispensaries in the City of Costa Mesa:

  • Cannabis dispensaries must not be located any closer than 1,000 feet from a K-12 school, playgrounds, daycares, and homeless shelters

  • Cannabis dispensaries must conduct check-in and age verifications for visitors

  • Cannabis sales per transaction to a customer may not exceed the stated limits under the law

  • Cannabis dispensaries may not be located within 500 feet of another licensed cannabis storefront business or 600 feet of youth centers

  • Cannabis products may not be consumed on the grounds of a dispensary

  • Cannabis may not be sold to persons under 21 unless they present valid medical marijuana identification cards or recommendations

Recreational Laws in Costa Mesa

Costa Mesa residents of legal age are permitted to use cannabis for recreational purposes. The legal age to use marijuana for recreational purposes in Costa Mesa and other California locations is 21. Residents of legal age can possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis and 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. Retail sales of cannabis are legal in the city for businesses that have obtained the required City Permits, Land-Use Entitlements, and State Licenses from the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC). Per Chapter 13-200.87 of the Costa Mesa Municipal Code, cannabis cultivation may only be conducted indoors. Such cultivation may only be for personal use and in a private residence occupied exclusively by natural persons aged 21 or older or inside fully enclosed and secure accessory structures on the grounds of the private residences.

Although transporting marijuana across state lines is illegal, Costa Mesa residents can transport cannabis provided it remains in a sealed container in the car's trunk. You violate California open container laws if you are caught in public with marijuana in open containers. You may be fined up to $100 for such an offense. It is illegal to consume cannabis in public or on federally owned buildings or drive under the influence of cannabis.

Medical Cannabis Laws in Costa Mesa

As permitted by Proposition 215 and the MAUCRSA (Medical and Adult Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act), medical marijuana is legal for qualified persons in Costa Mesa. California medical cannabis law permits Costa Mesa residents suffering from specific ailments to access higher cannabis limits than recreational cannabis users through its medical marijuana program. Under the state medical marijuana program, persons suffering from approved medical conditions must obtain medical marijuana recommendations from qualified healthcare practitioners to be eligible for the program. Costa Mesa patients may also opt to obtain a voluntary medical marijuana identification card, which provides the cardholder additional protection against marijuana possession arrest.

In Costa Mesa, consuming medical cannabis in public or while driving is illegal. Medical cannabis products may only be bought from licensed medical cannabis dispensaries and must be kept in their original packaging as supplied by the dispensaries. Medical cannabis consumption is approved for private uses and may not be done in public. Medical cannabis purchases made by Costa Mesa residents who have received medical marijuana cards are free from sales tax. The California MAUCRSA permits Costa Mesa patients under 18 or incapacitated patients to assign caregivers to administer medicinal cannabis. Patients and certified caregivers can cultivate up to six mature or twelve immature cannabis plants indoors and possess up to eight ounces of cannabis extracts.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Costa Mesa

Applications for medical marijuana cards in Costa Mesa must be made to the Orange County Health Care Agency. Before you may apply for a medical marijuana card, you must:

  • Be aged 18 or older

  • Live in Costa Mesa

  • Obtain a medical marijuana certification from a healthcare practitioner stating that you have one of the qualifying medical conditions. The certification must also recommend the use of marijuana in managing the stated condition. These conditions include:

    • Arthritis

    • Glaucoma

    • AIDS

    • Severe nausea

    • Cachexia

    • Anorexia

    • Cancer

    • Chronic Pain

    • Seizures

    • Persistent muscle spasms

    • Migraine

    • Any condition that significantly limits your ability to conduct basic life activities or inflicts serious harm on your health, such as those covered under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

Note that applications for medical marijuana cards can only be submitted at scheduled appointments with the Orange County Health Care Agency. The agency does not accept walk-ins without prior notice. To schedule an appointment with the agency, call the county office at (714) 480-6717.

Upon completion, submit the application at:

Health Care Agency

Office of Vital Records

200 W. Santa Ana Boulevard, Suite 100-B

Santa Ana, CA 92701

Phone: (714) 480-6717

Take the following to your appointment with the county health care agency:

  • A completed application form

  • The original written recommendation from your attending physician on official letterhead, or written documentation of medical record

  • A government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license issued by the State of California, a California ID, a Veteran's Administration ID Card, and the United States Passport

  • Proof of residence in Orange County, such as a current utility bill, mortgage payment receipt, or California motor vehicle registration having your current address in Orange County

  • A non-refundable $84 application fee or a $42 fee if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary. Payment can be made using cash or money order

It may take up to 5 weeks for your medical marijuana ID card to be available. A county health agency employee will contact you for pick-up when the ID card is available to guarantee delivery.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Costa Mesa?

Cannabis consumption is legal in private residences in Costa Mesa. If you reside in a multi-unit apartment, you may not consume cannabis in such a residence. If you do not own the residence in which you live, contact the property manager or landlord before consuming cannabis in such places. Employers may also enforce policies prohibiting cannabis use in their workplaces.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Costa Mesa Dispensary

You can buy cannabis at a Costa Mesa dispensary by ordering cannabis online or visiting the physical address of a dispensary. A valid ID is required to complete your purchase.

The Average Price of Cannabis in Costa Mesa

The average price of one gram of high-quality cannabis is $15, while one ounce of high-quality cannabis strain in Costa Mesa costs about $150.

Most Popular Strains in Costa Mesa

The most popular cannabis strains in Costa Mesa are:

  • Gelato

  • Purple Punch

  • Wedding Cake

  • Runtz

  • Blue Dream

Can You Smoke in Public in Costa Mesa?

The California Health & Safety Code prohibits cannabis smoking in any public location. A $100 fine is imposed for the violation of the public consumption law.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Costa Mesa?

Under the MAUCRSA, Costa Mesa residents of legal age may possess up to 28 grams of marijuana and 8 grams of cannabis-infused products. Also, Costa Mesa adults aged 21 or older can cultivate up to six plants for personal recreational use at home. Medical marijuana patients can possess up to 8 ounces of medical cannabis daily. Costa Mesa medical cannabis patients are allowed to cultivate up to 12 immature cannabis plants and 6 mature plants at home.

Can I Ship Cannabis to Costa Mesa?

No. Shipping cannabis across state lines in Costa Mesa is illegal

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Costa Mesa?

Yes, you can order marijuana online in Costa Mesa.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Costa Mesa?

The Costa Mesa Municipal Code does not stipulate operating hours for cannabis dispensaries in the city. However, California law permits cannabis dispensaries to conduct their businesses between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. Pacific Time.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Costa Mesa?

Tourists in the City of Costa Mesa with valid government-issued IDs can purchase recreational marijuana in the city. However, Costa Mesa tourists cannot buy medical marijuana unless enrolled in the California Medical Marijuana Program.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Costa Mesa?

Yes. You must provide a government-issued ID to be allowed to enter a dispensary in the city. If you want to buy medical cannabis, you must show your physician’s recommendation or medical marijuana card.

Best Dispensaries in Costa Mesa

420 Central, Coast Cannabis, and Top Shelf Meds are three of the best cannabis dispensaries in Costa Mesa.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Costa Mesa?

Yes. Costa Mesa cannabis dispensaries scan the IDs of customers before allowing them to enter the dispensary premises. State law only permits dispensaries to sell cannabis to persons 21 or older or with medical cannabis recommendations.

How Many Dispensaries are in Costa Mesa?

There are no official sources on the number of dispensaries in Costa Mesa. However, there is no cap on the number of retail storefront businesses that may be established in the city.

Can Dispensaries in Costa Mesa Take Credit Cards?

No. Cannabis dispensaries in Costa Mesa do not usually accept credit cards. Cash is the preferred means of completing transactions.

How Many dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You may visit multiple marijuana dispensaries in one day. However, per state law, you will not be able to buy more than is permitted.

Do Dispensaries in Costa Mesa Take Health Insurance?

Costa Mesa dispensaries do not take health insurance from cannabis buyers.

Do Dispensaries in Costa Mesa Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Yes. Costa Mesa dispensaries track the quantity of cannabis purchased by visitors.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Costa Mesa at Age 18?

In Costa Mesa, you cannot legally enter a marijuana dispensary unless you are at least 21 years old. You will be required to show proof of legal age. If you are 18 or older and have a medical cannabis recommendation, you may enter a medical cannabis dispensary in the city.

Where Can I Find the Costa Mesa Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

Cannabis activities in Costa Mesa are regulated by the California Department of Cannabis Control (DCC). For more information about the DCC, visit the California Cannabis website. You may also email the Costa Mesa government at cannabis@costamesaca.gov or call the cannabis hotline at (714) 754-4902.

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Costa Mesa?

You can report illegal cannabis activities in Costa Mesa using the File a Complaint tool on the Department of Cannabis Control website or the Costa Mesa Code Enforcement Division. You may also report to the City of Costa Mesa Police Department using the crime reporting tool on the department’s website.

In this section:
California City Cannabis Overview