Yes. There are weed retail outlets in Vista pursuant to Chapter 5.95 of the City of Vista Municipal Code. The code also permits the co-location of medical cannabis dispensaries and commercial adult-use cannabis businesses within its jurisdiction.
Yes. The City of Vista permits the operations of medical marijuana dispensaries pursuant to Chapter 5.94 of the Vista Municipal Code. Medical cannabis dispensaries are explicitly prohibited from the R-1, R-1-B, and R-M zones but are only permitted in the following zones:
Yes, you can purchase cannabis from online weed dispensaries in Vista.
When visiting a Vista dispensary, you can expect the following:
You must have a valid government-issued ID to demonstrate that you are at least 21
You will be able to find adult-use and medical marijuana products sold in the same facility at some of the dispensaries
Typically, only cash payments are accepted for payments
California law restricts the quantity of cannabis items that may be purchased from dispensaries. There expect to have dispensaries keep your purchases within this limit
You are prohibited from using cannabis products on the grounds of the dispensaries
Cannabis dispensaries in Vista are subject to the following regulations:
Dispensaries may only begin operations in the city after obtaining the applicable state licenses and City of Vista permit
Dispensaries may not operate earlier than 9:00 a.m. and later than 10:00 p.m.
No individual under 21 may be permitted to enter an adult-use cannabis business
Cannabis use is illegal on the premises of a dispensary
A medical cannabis dispensary may not have a physician or attending physician at the facility of the business to evaluate patients or provide a recommendation for medical cannabis
Minors may not enter a medical marijuana dispensary unless they are qualified patients and are in the presence of their primary caregiver, licensed attending physician, parents, or documented legal guardians
Dispensaries may not sell alcoholic beverages
Medical marijuana dispensaries may not be located within 500 feet of other permitted medical cannabis dispensaries or 600 feet of a school
Dispensaries may not operate out of a residence or dwelling
The California Medical and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) defines recreational cannabis laws in Vista. The state recreational cannabis laws permit and prohibit the following in Vista:
Possession of up to 28.5 grams of cannabis is lawful for individuals aged 21 and older, as well as 8 grams of concentrated marijuana
Adults of legal age (21) may give away up to 1 ounce of cannabis to other adults of legal age as long no form of exchange or compensation is involved
Marijuana possession or use is prohibited on government property and facilities
Residents in Vista who are 21 years old or older may grow and process up to six live cannabis plants for personal use in a single private household
It is illegal to transport marijuana over state boundaries
It is prohibited to drive while under the influence of cannabis
It is unlawful to consume cannabis in public
The use of medicinal marijuana is legal in Vista if you have a qualifying physician's medical cannabis recommendation or a medical marijuana card issued under the California medical marijuana program. The state medical program was established under the Compassionate Use Act (CUA), approved by California voters in 1996. CUA allows patients with eligible medical conditions registered with the state to possess up to 8 ounces of dried cannabis and grow 12 immature and six mature cannabis plants at home for medical use. Patients and their caregivers are not allowed to give away medical cannabis to other patients or caregivers.
It is illegal to use medical cannabis in public or have or use it on federal lands or properties. Driving under the influence of medical marijuana will attract a DUI charge. Note that medical cannabis purchased from sources other than licensed medical cannabis retail outlets is illegal.
The state requires persons seeking medical marijuana cards to apply to the county health offices under the county program established pursuant to the CUA. Therefore, to get a medical marijuana card in Vista, you must apply to the San Diego County Health and Human Services Agency. The agency only allows application submissions by appointment. To set up an appointment with the agency, call its office at (619) 692-5723.
At your appointment, you must provide the following:
A completed medical marijuana ID application form
A government-issued photo ID
Proof of residency in Vista containing your name and current physical address in the City of Vista
Written documentation or CDPH 9044 form from your attending physician recommending medical marijuana use as appropriate
Your attending physician's name, contact address, and California medical license number
An application fee of $44 or $22 if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary. The fee may be paid using a cashier's check, money order, or cash
Active Medi-Cal card if you are a Medi-Cal beneficiary or Beneficiary Identification Card (BIC)
After reviewing and approving your application, your card will be issued within five weeks. For more inquiries on getting a medical marijuana card in Vista, visit the county health office at:
Public Health Services
3851 Rosecrans Street, Suite 802
San Diego, CA 92110
You may use cannabis on private properties in Vista. However, you cannot use cannabis in public places. Note that landlords and property owners are allowed to ban the possession and use of cannabis on their premises. Also, cannabis use within 1,000 feet of a daycare center, youth center, and school is illegal.
You can only buy cannabis at California Department of Cannabis Control-licensed retail outlets in the city. Medical cannabis patients may only purchase from a licensed medicinal retailer. You can find licensed dispensaries in the city by searching online using the phrase “Vista weed dispensaries near me.” You will need cash and a valid government ID card to buy recreational cannabis, while a California medical marijuana card will be required to purchase medical cannabis in the city.
A gram of pre-rolls costs between $10 and $15, while 3.5 grams of cannabis flower costs about $50 and $70.
Some of the most commonly purchased weed strains in Vista are:
Super Silver Haze
No. Smoking cannabis in public in Vista is illegal.
If you are at least 21, you may purchase and possess up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis and eight grams of cannabis concentrate. You may also cultivate, harvest, dry, and process up to six cannabis plants inside or on the premises of your own house. You may possess up to eight ounces of dried cannabis and six mature or twelve immature cannabis plants unless your physician's recommendation specifies a higher amount.
No. It is illegal to bring or take cannabis across state lines, even if you are traveling to another jurisdiction where cannabis is legal.
Yes, you can order cannabis online from Vista dispensaries.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in the city. Per Chapters 5.94 and 5.95 of the Vista municipal code, no medical or recreational dispensaries may operate earlier than 9:00 a.m. and later than 10:00 p.m.
Tourists may use recreational dispensaries in Vista but not medical marijuana dispensaries in the city.
To use recreational dispensaries in the city, you must have a government-issued ID indicating your date of birth. To use medical marijuana shops, you must have a California Department of Public Health medical marijuana card and a valid government-issued ID.
Wellgreens, Tradecraft Farms, and Coastal Wellness are top-rated dispensaries in the City of Vista.
Yes. Vista dispensaries are required by state law to check the ages of their consumers before allowing them to buy cannabis. As a result, expect your ID to be checked while visiting a Vista dispensary.
There are at least eight dispensaries in the City of Vista.
Vista dispensaries do not take credit cards. You will be required to use cash or debit cards.
You can use as many dispensaries as possible in a day in Vista.
No. Vista dispensaries do not take health insurance.
Yes. Vista dispensaries, like all other state-licensed dispensaries in California, are mandated to track sales to ensure that marijuana purchasers stay under the authorized limits.
If you have a valid California medical marijuana card and a valid government-issued ID, you can visit a medical marijuana dispensary in Vista at age 18. You must be at least 21 to access a recreational dispensary in the city.
The California Department of Cannabis Control regulates cannabis operations in the City of Vista. You may contact the DCC at:
2920 Kilgore Road
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
Alternatively, contact the DCC by mail at:
PO Box 419106
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9106
You can contact the Vista Sheriff’s Department or the California DCC to report unlawful cannabis activities in the city. The Vista Sheriff’s Department can be reached at (858) 565 5200, while you may use the DCC's submit a complaint tool to report to the Department of Cannabis Control.