Yes, Redding is one of the cities in California that permits the establishment of cannabis dispensaries within its boundaries. The approval of Proposition 64 in 2016, also known as the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), by California voters legalized adult-use cannabis for adults 21 years and older in the state.
Per Chapter 6.12 of the Redding Code of Ordinances, anyone intending to establish a marijuana retail business within the city borders must obtain all applicable licenses from the State of California and the City of Redding. The City Code of Ordinances permits the establishment of only 10 dispensaries within the city per time. It considers any business selling recreational and medical cannabis as one marijuana business.
There are medical cannabis dispensaries in Redding. Medical cannabis became legal in California after the passage of the Compassionate Use Act, also known as Proposition 215. Under this Act, patients with certain debilitating health challenges can use cannabis for medical purposes. The passage of Proposition 215 made medicinal cannabis available to qualified patients through the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in California. The Redding Code of Ordinances allows the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in Redding to serve patients registered under the California Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program.
Yes, the sale of cannabis online in Redding is not prohibited by any California law. Residents can identify dispensaries with online stores in Redding by browsing their websites or searching the internet for "online marijuana dispensaries in Redding." Per Section 6.12.540 of the Redding Code of Ordinances, licensed cannabis dispensaries in Redding can deliver marijuana products ordered online to customers' local addresses within the city.
Some dispensaries in Redding only serve qualified medical patients, but recreational dispensaries are available to individuals 21 years and older. A person will need a valid government-issued photo ID showing they are of legal age (21) in order to enter a recreational weed dispensary in Redding. Medical marijuana patients must carry their state-issued medical marijuana identification cards when visiting medical cannabis dispensaries.
A qualified patient without a medical marijuana card intending to visit a dispensary in Redding requires a prescription from a California-licensed physician. When heading to a dispensary in Redding, it is essential to come with cash because federal marijuana laws make it challenging for cannabis dispensaries to transact with banks and credit card companies.
Redding dispensary laws are outlined between Section 6.12.430 and Section 6.12.530 of the Redding Code of Ordinances. They include the following:
Cannabis dispensaries in Redding may not grant access to a person to the retail areas until they verify that such a person is at least 18, has valid proof of ID and a California-issued medical marijuana ID card, or the individual is at least 21 with valid proof of identification
It is illegal for dispensaries to sell recreational cannabis to individuals under 21. They may only sell medical marijuana to residents who are at least 18 with valid medical cannabis cards
Weed dispensaries in Redding may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. daily
Dispensaries may only display cannabis products in the retail area, and product containers must not be readily accessible to customers without the assistance and presence of a dispensary employee
Redding permits cannabis dispensaries to sell non-marijuana products, except tobacco and alcohol
Redding dispensaries must maintain a record of sales for each customer transaction
It is illegal for cannabis dispensaries in Redding to package or label marijuana products
Below outlines some of the recreational marijuana laws in Redding:
Adults 21 years and older can possess, use, and cultivate marijuana for recreational purposes in Redding, although subject to certain limits. For instance, they may only grow up to 6 marijuana plants at home, and cultivation must be in a secure, locked space
Adults 21 years and older can gift another adult up to 28.5 grams of cannabis and up to 8 grams of marijuana concentrate to other adults who must also be at least 21
Federal law prohibits the consumption of marijuana on federal property in Redding
It is illegal to smoke marijuana in places where California law bans tobacco smoking and in public
Driving while under marijuana influence is prohibited in Redding
Redding medical cannabis laws include the following:
Patients with certain debilitating health conditions can use medicinal cannabis, but those under 18 must do so under the supervision of caregivers or their parents/legal guardians
Unless in a private residence or on a school bus, it is illegal for a patient to use medical cannabis within 1,000 feet of any daycare center, school, or youth center
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal, even for registered medical marijuana patients
A medical marijuana patient can plant marijuana at home for personal purposes. The number of plants they can grow is subject to their medical cannabis needs
Qualified cannabis patients in Redding can get a California medical marijuana identification card program by applying to the Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency. After getting licensed physicians' recommendations via the Written Documentation of Patient’s Medical Records Form, they can complete the Medical Marijuana Application Form. The Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency provides an application guide, which includes information on the application fee and required documents, to assist applicants through the application process.
California medical marijuana identification card program applicants in Redding should submit completed forms and required documents in person (by appointment only) to the Health and Human Services Agency at:
Shasta County Health and Human Services
Shasta County Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program
1880 Shasta Street
Redding, CA 96001
Phone: (530) 245-6426
The only legal place to consume marijuana in Redding is indoors, in private residences, to avoid harassment by law enforcement.
To buy adult-use cannabis at any licensed dispensary in Redding, a person needs a valid government-issued ID, while a medical cannabis patient needs a medical cannabis card or a prescription from a licensed physician.
The average price per ounce of cannabis in licensed dispensaries in Redding is $247. Depending on the product and dispensary, the actual cost may be higher or lower.
Dispensaries in Redding sell various strains of cannabis, but the most popular ones include Wedding Cake, Sour Diesel, OG Kush, and Bubba Kush.
No, it is unlawful to smoke cannabis in public in Redding. California law considers it illegal and a punishable offense.
In Redding, adults 21 years and older can possess up to 8 grams of marijuana concentrates and 28.5 grams of non-concentrated marijuana at once. Registered qualified medical cannabis patients may possess up to 8 ounces of medicinal cannabis.
No, shipping cannabis in Redding contravenes federal marijuana laws.
Yes, eligible persons can order cannabis online in Redding.
No. Section 6.12.450 of the Redding Code of Ordinances prohibits 24-hour dispensary operations in Redding.
Tourists in Redding can use recreational cannabis dispensaries within the city, provided they are at least 21 and have valid government-issued IDs. They cannot enter medical marijuana dispensaries even if they are enrolled in their states' medical marijuana programs unless they apply for a California medical marijuana identification card.
Yes, Redding Code of Ordinances prohibits dispensaries from selling cannabis to individuals who cannot provide valid-government-issued IDs.
The best dispensaries in Redding include High Times, Compassionate Health Options, and Vibe By California.
Yes. As required by the City Code of Ordinances, dispensaries in Redding must verify customers' IDs (by scanning them) before dispensing cannabis.
Per the City Code of Ordinances, there may only be 10 licensed dispensaries in Redding at any given time.
Dispensaries in Redding cannot allow customers to pay with credit cards due to the ongoing federal ban on marijuana.
There is no limit to the number of dispensaries a person can visit in Redding daily, but they cannot exceed their daily marijuana purchase or possession limit.
No. Redding dispensaries would violate federal laws and face severe penalties if they take health insurance as a payment method for cannabis products.
Yes. In compliance with California marijuana laws, all dispensaries in the state, including Redding dispensaries, must track the amount of cannabis sold to consumers using the California Cannabis Track and Trace System (CCTT)
Medical cannabis patients with a California medical marijuana identification program card or a prescription from a California-licensed physician can enter a medical marijuana dispensary in Redding at 18. It is illegal for someone under 21 to enter a licensed recreational dispensary in the city.
Redding cannabis regulator's contact information, the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC), is available on the department's website.
Incidents of illegal cannabis activities in Redding can be reported to the DCC at _1 (844) 612‑2322. _Alternatively, report such incidents to the Redding Police Department at (530) 225-4211.