Yes, there are marijuana dispensaries in Turlock. Adult-use cannabis became legal in California in 2016 with the passage of Proposition 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA). A year later, California passed the Medicinal and Adult Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) to establish a single regulatory framework for marijuana businesses and harmonize existing cannabis laws. MAUCRSA permitted California cities and counties to allow or prohibit marijuana businesses within their boundaries.
The Turlock City Council, in July 2019, adopted Ordinance 1255-CS to permit the establishment of up to four marijuana dispensaries within the city boundaries. The Council limited the operations of marijuana dispensaries to specific zones within the city. Prospective marijuana dispensaries must apply for and obtain conditional use permits from the City Council before operating in Turlock.
Yes, there are medical marijuana dispensaries in Turlock. California’s Compassionate Use Act (Proposition 215), passed in 1996, allows the use of marijuana to treat certain medical conditions. Medical and recreational cannabis laws in California were harmonized by the MAUCRSA. The MAUCRSA allows local government authorities to prohibit the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in their jurisdictions. It also allows existing medical marijuana dispensaries to apply for licenses to sell recreational cannabis.
Even though medical marijuana dispensaries were illegal in Turlock before the passage of the MAUCRSA, the Turlock City Council revised the city laws in 2019 to allow both medical and recreational cannabis dispensaries to operate within the city boundaries.
Yes, Turlock residents aged 21 years and older can buy marijuana online from licensed marijuana dispensaries in the city and have them delivered to their homes. The MAUCRSA prohibits local government authorities from banning the delivery of marijuana to adults aged 21 years and over. Medical marijuana patients can also order medical marijuana online. All forms of marijuana can be purchased online in Turlock.
Turlock residents aged 21 years and older can find nearby marijuana dispensaries in the city via an internet search. A search for “marijuana dispensaries near me” will return a list of cannabis dispensaries in Turlock.
When visiting a cannabis dispensary in Turlock, eligible adults must go with their state-issued identification cards to verify that they are not under 21 years. They should also hold cash, as marijuana dispensaries in Turlock do not take credit cards. Some dispensaries provide ATMs onsite for cash withdrawals. They may purchase up to 28.5 grams of marijuana and 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
Medical marijuana patients in Turlock must visit cannabis dispensaries with their medical marijuana identification cards. They can purchase more than 28.5 grams of marijuana depending on the recommendations of their physicians. Medical marijuana patients can purchase medical marijuana products at reduced prices because medical cannabis is exempted from sales and use tax in California.
The following are some of the marijuana dispensary laws in Turlock:
Turlock may only permit a maximum of four marijuana dispensaries in the city
Marijuana dispensaries may only be established in Turlock after obtaining conditional use permits from the Turlock City Council
A prospective marijuana dispensary applying for Turlock's conditional use permit must submit to the Turlock City Council a California marijuana dispensary license or a marijuana dispensary license application
Marijuana dispensaries can only operate in the following zones in Turlock:
Community Commercial District (C-C)
Heavy Commercial/Light District (C-H)
Downtown Core District (DC)
Downtown Core Transition District (DCT)
Transitional Commercial District (TC)
Some of the recreational laws in Turlock are:
Turlock residents aged 21 years and older may possess up to 28.5 grams of weed and up to 8 grams of concentrated marijuana at once
It is illegal to smoke cannabis in places where smoking tobacco is prohibited in Turlock
Driving while under the influence of weed or while using cannabis is illegal in Turlock
It is illegal to consume or possess marijuana within 600 feet of a religious ground, school, youth center, park, daycare center, or federal land in Turlock
Turlock residents may cultivate up to six marijuana plants in their residences, provided they obtain home-cultivation permits from the city
The following are some of the medical marijuana laws in Turlock:
Only persons diagnosed with California-qualifying medical conditions are eligible for medical marijuana cards in Turlock
Medical marijuana patients may possess as much medical marijuana as recommended by their physicians
Medical marijuana patients in Turlock require home cultivation permits before they can grow marijuana in their homes. They may grow more than six cannabis plants in their homes if recommended by their physicians
Medical cannabis patients may not drive while under the influence of marijuana in Turlock
Any Turlock resident intending to obtain a California medical marijuana identification card must apply to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). They must be diagnosed with at least one of the eligible medical conditions for medical cannabis by a California-registered physician. They will need the following to apply:
Completed Medical Marijuana Program Application/Renewal Form
Physician-signed Written Documentation of Patient’s Medical Record Form
Proof of Turlock residency
Program application fee (application fee may be waived for an applicant on a medically-indigent service program)
A California medical marijuana card applicant in Turlock must submit the complete application form and other required documents in person at:
Stanislaus County Health Services Agency, Public Health
917 Oakdale Road
Modesto, CA 95355-4593
The CDPH processes applications within 35 days and sends medical marijuana identification cards to successful applicants. The California medical marijuana identification card must be renewed annually.
Marijuana can be legally consumed in private residences in Turlock. However, property owners must consent to the consumption of cannabis on their premises if the consumers live in rented apartments. It is unlawful to consume weed in public or places where tobacco consumption is prohibited.
Turlock residents aged 21 years and older must go to cannabis dispensaries in Turlock with government-issued identification cards. They should also hold cash, as marijuana dispensaries do not accept credit cards in Turlock. They can buy up to 28.5 grams of marijuana and 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. Medical marijuana patients must go to marijuana dispensaries with their medical marijuana identification cards.
The average price of high-grade cannabis flowers in Turlock is $15 per gram, while it costs $11 per gram for medium-grade marijuana flowers.
The most popular strains of marijuana consumed in Turlock include Gelato, Wedding Cake, Apple Fritter, and Durban Poison.
No, smoking weed in public is prohibited in Turlock.
Turlock residents aged 21 years and older may possess up to 28.5 grams of weed and 8 grams of concentrated marijuana for recreational purposes. Medical cannabis patients may possess more than 28.5 grams if recommended by their physicians.
No, it is illegal to ship weed into Turlock. Cannabis is a Schedule I controlled substance in the U.S. and cannot be taken across state lines.
Yes, Turlock residents aged 21 years and older can order weed from California-licensed dispensaries and have them delivered to their homes. They must provide their government-issued identification cards to verify their ages at the point of delivery. Medical marijuana patients in Turlock can also order medical cannabis from California-licensed dispensaries online. They will need to provide their medical marijuana identification cards.
No, there are no 24-hour cannabis dispensaries in Turlock.
Yes, tourists can use cannabis dispensaries in Turlock, provided they are not under 21 years.
Yes, cannabis consumers must present government-issued identification cards in cannabis dispensaries in Turlock. The identification cards are used to verify their ages, as only persons aged 21 years and over are allowed into recreational marijuana dispensaries in Turlock. Medical marijuana patients must go to cannabis dispensaries with valid medical marijuana identification cards.
Turlock residents consider Perfect Union cannabis dispensary and Firehouse dispensary to be some of the best marijuana dispensaries in Turlock.
Yes. Marijuana dispensaries in Turlock scan ID cards of consumers to verify their ages. They also scan medical marijuana identification cards of patients to record the amount of medical cannabis they purchase.
There are three cannabis dispensaries in Turlock. They are all licensed for both medical and recreational marijuana sales.
No. As a result of the illegal status of marijuana at the federal level, cannabis dispensaries in Turlock do not accept credit cards.
Turlock residents aged 21 years and over may visit several marijuana dispensaries in a day as long as they do not purchase above the legal cannabis possession limit. Medical marijuana patients may also visit as many medical cannabis dispensaries in a day and purchase as much medical marijuana as recommended by their physicians with their medical marijuana cards.
Marijuana dispensaries in Turlock do not take health insurance because cannabis is still illegal at the federal level.
Yes, marijuana dispensaries in Turlock Track how much cannabis consumers purchase. The MAUCRSA mandates dispensaries to record sales in the California Cannabis Track-and-Trace System.
It is illegal for persons under 21 years to enter recreational marijuana dispensaries in Turlock. However, medical marijuana patients can enter medical marijuana dispensaries in Turlock at 18 years, provided they present valid medical marijuana identification cards.
The Turlock cannabis regulator’s contact information can be found on the California Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) website.
Turlock residents can report illegal marijuana activities to the Turlock Police Department at (209) 668-5550. They may also report to the California Department of Cannabis Control via their Online Complaint Entry System.