Yes. The City of Thousand Oaks has two marijuana dispensaries. Per Section 5-29.08 of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code, only two cannabis retailers are permitted to operate in the city at any given time. The City Council, in July 2022, adopted an ordinance authorizing the establishment of two cannabis dispensaries, however, with certain restrictions. One such limitation is that cannabis dispensaries in Thousand Oaks were initially prohibited from dispensing recreational cannabis. However, according to the news by Legendary Organics, one of the city's two approved cannabis dispensaries, recreational marijuana sales were approved by the City Council on August 5, 2022. The Adult Use of Marijuana Act, also known as Proposition 64, legalized recreational cannabis in California in 2016.
Yes. The two approved cannabis retailers in the City of Thousand Oaks were primarily authorized to sell medical cannabis until August 2022, when the City Council permitted the sale of recreational marijuana. The Compassionate Use Act had, in 1996, legalized medical marijuana in California, Thousand Oaks’ home state.
Yes, buying cannabis from online weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks is possible. Section 5-29.08(c) of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code permits, without limitation, cannabis delivery service from any California-licensed retailer. There are no restrictions on cannabis products that residents can purchase from weed dispensaries online.
A person must be at least 21 years old to visit a cannabis dispensary in Thousand Oaks for recreational weed. Similarly, they must be at least 18 with a California medical marijuana card if buying medical cannabis. Weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks require recreational weed consumers to present their government-issued photo IDs at the point of sale for age verification. Budtenders employed by cannabis dispensaries often assist recreational weed buyers in making the right choice of products based on their needs. Most weed dispensaries accept only cash payments, so carrying cash while visiting a cannabis dispensary in the City of Thousand Oaks is advisable.
Section 5-29.35 of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code prohibits the establishment of non-storefront cannabis dispensaries within the city borders. Thousand Oak City's major dispensary laws are contained in Section 5-29.34 of the city's Municipal Code, and they include the following:
Cannabis dispensaries must only keep the amount of cannabis or cannabis products they anticipate to meet consumers' daily demands on the retail sales areas of their facilities
Cannabis dispensaries must not dispense cannabis to anyone under 18 years. For recreational weed sales, cannabis dispensaries must verify that customers are 21 years or older. If a customer is under 21 years, the dispensary must request a valid doctor's recommendation and/or their California medical marijuana card for the purchase of medicinal cannabis
Weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. daily
Cannabis dispensaries must lock the entrances to their facilities at all times. They must limit entry to the dispensary using a buzz-in mechanical/electronic entry system
In compliance with the California Adult-Use of Marijuana Act (Proposition 64), the following are recreational cannabis laws in Thousand Oaks:
Adults 21 years or older may cultivate up to six marijuana plants per residence for personal use. Cultivation must be in a fully enclosed and secure space
Adults 21 years and older may transport, possess, give away, or obtain up to 28.5 grams of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis
Consumption of recreational cannabis in public is unlawful
Vaping or smoking cannabis in non-smoking areas or within 1,000 feet of a daycare center, school, or youth center is prohibited unless in a private residence
Consumption of recreational marijuana while driving or riding as a passenger in a vehicle is illegal
Medical cannabis laws in Thousand Oaks align with those stipulated in California Compassionate Use Act. They include the following:
Registered patients and their designated caregivers may possess and cultivate medicinal cannabis for personal use based on recommendations from California-licensed doctors. However, the quantity of cannabis in their possession must not exceed reasonable amounts
Consumption of medicinal cannabis on federal lands in Thousand Oaks is prohibited
Only persons suffering from eligible medical conditions may participate in the California medical marijuana program and use medicinal cannabis
Thousand Oaks residents with eligible medical conditions can obtain medical marijuana identification cards from the Ventura County Health Care Agency (VCHCA). However, the agency attends to applicants only based on appointment. To schedule an appointment, contact the VCHCA at (805) 981-5301.
The documents required to get a medical marijuana identification card in Thousand Oaks are as follows:
A completed Medical Marijuana Program Application/Renewal Form (CDPH 9042)
A completed Written Documentation of Patient's Medical Records Form (CDPH 9044). Alternatively, the applicant's California-licensed doctor may issue a written statement on their official letterhead stating the applicant's suitability for medical cannabis
A government-issued photo identification (U.S. passport, California driver's license, or any other government-issued ID will do)
Proof of residency in Thousand Oaks showing the applicant's current address and name (utility bill, rent receipt, California vehicle registration, or mortgage agreement will suffice)
Proof of application fee payment. An applicant is expected to pay not more than $100. Medi-Cal participants generally pay 50% of the standard fee
On the appointment date, an applicant should submit these documents to the VCHCA at:
Ventura County Public Health
Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program
2220 East Gonzales Road, Suite 200
Oxnard, CA 93036
The applicant's photo will be taken (for the identification card) during the appointment. This will be transmitted with the submitted documents to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) for processing. A typical application process may take up to 35 days. Once processed, the VCHCA will contact the applicant to pick up their medical marijuana card or send it to them via mail.
The legal place to consume cannabis in the City of Thousand Oaks is in a private residence. Generally, California prohibits the consumption of cannabis in public, including on federal lands. Smoking cannabis within 1,000 feet of a youth center, school, or daycare center is unlawful in Thousand Oaks.
To buy cannabis from a weed dispensary in Thousand Oaks, a person may visit the dispensary location or make an online order. Search the internet with "cannabis dispensaries near me" or "weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks" to get a list of dispensary locations within the city borders. Typically, a person needs a valid government-issued photo ID to buy recreational cannabis at a Thousand Oaks dispensary. Individuals buying medical marijuana must present their California medical marijuana identification card.
The price of cannabis products generally depends on the type (product form). In Thousand Oaks, the average cost of high-quality weed is $14 per gram and about $260 per ounce.
The most popular strains of cannabis in Thousand Oaks include sour diesel, girl scout cookies (GSK), original glue, gelato, purple lush, and wedding cake. Weed strains are generally categorized as Sativa, Indica, and hybrid strains.
No. Smoking weed in public in Thousand Oaks is illegal under the Adult Use of Marijuana Act. A person may pay up to $250 in cash fine if caught smoking cannabis in public.
In Thousand Oaks, adults 21 years or older and medical marijuana patients may possess up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis or 28.5 grams of marijuana at once. Also, they can cultivate up to six marijuana plants per private residence for personal recreational purposes.
No. Shipping cannabis in Thousand Oaks is considered a federal offense considering the federal government's position on cannabis as a controlled substance. Hence, shipping cannabis via the United States Postal Service (USPS) or any other mail delivery company is deemed illegal.
Yes. To order cannabis from a weed dispensary online in Thousand Oaks, check the dispensary's website for their contact phone number and ask them how it is done. Such online orders are usually delivered to physical addresses via local delivery services.
No. Thousand Oaks Municipal Code prohibits cannabis dispensaries from 24-hour daily operation. Section 5-29.34(a)(3) of the city Municipal Code limits the operating hours of weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks to between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. daily.
Yes. Tourists can use dispensaries in Thousand Oaks, provided they are at least 21 years old and can present their valid government-issued photo identification cards. Tourists may quickly locate the weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks by querying the internet with "weed dispensaries near me" or "cannabis dispensaries in Thousand Oaks." Tourists under 18 but qualified for medical marijuana must present their medical marijuana identification cards to use a dispensary in the city.
Yes. Per Section 5-29.34(a)(2) of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code, a person must show their government-issued photo ID to access a weed dispensary for recreational cannabis in the city. Similarly, an individual must present a California medical marijuana ID if visiting the dispensary for medical cannabis.
Thousand Oaks has two cannabis dispensaries. Typically, any good weed dispensary will display a QR code obtained from the California Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) in a prominent place in their dispensary. The unique QR code can help buyers to verify a dispensary's license status. To identify the best cannabis dispensary in Thousand Oaks, search "best dispensary near me" or "best dispensary in Thousand Oaks" online. Customers' past reviews on each of the dispensaries displayed in the search result can help determine which of them is the best.
Yes. The city Municipal Code requires weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks to scan customers' identification cards to verify their age and to detect fake IDs.
Thousand Oaks has two cannabis dispensaries.
No. The cannabis industry is majorly cash-driven, and as such, weed dispensaries in Thousand Oaks do not take credit cards.
In Thousand Oaks, there is no limitation to the number of dispensaries a person can visit in one day. However, purchasing more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis or 28.5grams of marijuana from such combined visits is illegal.
No. Cannabis dispensaries in Thousand Oaks do not take health insurance because cannabis is still prohibited at the federal level. Health insurance does not cover qualified patients' medicinal marijuana needs.
Yes. Cannabis dispensaries in Thousand Oaks are required to track how much weed consumers buy to ensure they do not exceed the legally allowed maximum. Besides, the DCC requires cannabis licensees, including dispensaries, to track and trace cannabis through the supply chain.
Persons 18 years old can enter cannabis dispensaries in Thousand Oaks, provided they are registered medical cannabis patients with California medical marijuana cards.
The Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) is California's cannabis industry regulator. It also regulates the cannabis businesses in Thousand Oaks. Anyone can contact the DCC at 1 (844) 612‑2322 or via email. Additionally, the DCC maintains other contact information on its website for various inquiry types.
Contact the Ventura County Sheriff's Office at (805) 654-2380 and ask to speak with the Criminal Intelligence Unit to report any illegal cannabis activities in the City of Thousand Oaks.